New England Colonies

The 13 Colonies

What are the New England Colonies?

The New England Colonies are made up of 4 colonies: Massachusets, Conneticut, New Hampshire and Rhode Island. Each colony's founders were given a official charter to start that colony, and while they didn't have very good farming soil, they made up for it by fishing, whaling, building ships, and doing other sea related things to build their economy.

The Native Americans and the Colonists

The most notable interaction with the Native Americans was when the Pilgrims celebrated the first Thanksgiving with the Wampanoag tribe. However, the first Thanksgiving wasn't as thankful as people say. The Pilgrims did not work hard in order to grow food, and instead stole food from other Colonists and the Natives. The Colonists were also not nearly as friendly to the Native Americans as the stories tell us, and caused some conflict with the tribes.
Sources: Ms.Maltas, National Geographic, Textbook