The Mystery Train Radio Show 28/05

A Sweet Kind Of Blue Special - PRESENTED BY ALEX HUSKISSON

FYI - to listen to this weeks program (28/05) & others, click the link below - look for the 'severn fm listenagain' player. click 'the mystery train' section - then select a show you'd like to listen to & enjoy. some browsers allow you to download shows too!

listen on mobile or apple products too via the link below. just click on 'the mystery train' and select a show to listen to.

this weeks playlist :-

Choo Choo! All aboard 'The Mystery Train Radio Show' on www.severnfm.com. This week we share a special program about singer songwriter Emily Barker and her brand new album 'Sweet Kind Of Blue'! As well as playing a number of tracks from the new record you can hear a conversation I had with Emily on the day the album was released. In this chat Emily talks about recording an album in a city famed for capturing the sound of early rock n roll & soul music... Memphis, Tennessee. Emily also talks about some of the incredible people she's worked with (including Grammy winning producer Matt Ross Spang) and we explore her early thoughts about music and the artists that helped shape her love of folk, country and soul. All this plus 2 very apt train songs to start :))) Click on the links below to find out more about the bands or songwriters featured - and why not watch a few of Emily's video's too (again, see below)! Take a trip and listen today by clicking the links above. listen via mobile, PC or laptop.
Side 1.

1) Mystery Train - Elvis Presley - The Sun Records Collection - http://www.elvis.com/

2) Folsom Prison Blues - Johnny Cash - The Sun Records Collection - http://www.johnnycash.com/

3) The Mystery Train Radio Show Theme Music - 'Roadrunner' by Rebellious Guitars -http://www.rebelmusic.de/

4) Good Times - Aretha Franklin - I Never Loved A Man The Way I Love You - http://www.arethafranklin.net/home/

5) Sweet Kind of Blue - Emily Barker - Sweet Kind of Blue - http://www.emilybarker.com/

6) Emily in conversation - part 1

7) Do Right Woman - The Flying Burrito Brothers - Sacred Hearts & Fallen Angels (The Gram Parsons Anthology) - http://www.allmusic.com/artist/gram-parsons-mn0000987491

8) Emily in conversation - part 2

9) Emily Barker - No5 Hurricane - Sweet Kind Of Blue - http://www.emilybarker.com/

10) Before The Deluge - Jackson Browne - Late For The Sky - http://www.jacksonbrowne.com/

11) Emily in conversation - part 3

12) More! - Emily Barker - Sweet Kind of Blue - http://www.emilybarker.com/

13) Blue - Joni Mitchell - Blue - http://jonimitchell.com/

14) Tougher Than The Rest [Live] - Bruce Springsteen - Chimes Of Freedom [Live] - http://brucespringsteen.net/


Side 2.

15) Four Strong Winds - Neil Young - Comes A Time - http://www.neilyoung.com/peacetrail/?ref=https://www.google.co.uk/

16) Emily in conversation - part 4

17) Over My Shoulder - Emily Barker - Sweet Kind Of Blue - http://www.emilybarker.com/

18) Emily in conversation - part 5

19) Peace in the Valley - Sister Rosetta Tharpe - From Blues To Gospel - http://www.biography.com/people/sister-rosetta-tharpe-17172332

20) Sister Goodbye - Emily Barker - Sweet Kind of Blue - http://www.emilybarker.com/

21) Emily in conversation- part 6

22) Sunrise - Emily Barker - Sweet Kind of Blue (Deluxe Edition) - http://www.emilybarker.com/

23) Emily in conversation - part 7

24) If We Forget to Dance - Emily Barker - Sweet Kind of Blue - http://www.emilybarker.com/

25) I've Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now) [Live] - Booker T. & The MG's - Time Is Tight (Box Set) - http://www.allmusic.com/artist/booker-t-the-mgs-mn0000772733

26) Forever Young - Kitty Wells - Country Soul Sisters Volume 2 : Women In Country Music 1956-79 - http://www.kittywells.com/

and on twitter :-

'Train Comin' Round The Bend...'

Big image
Emily Barker - Introducing the new album Sweet Kind of Blue
Emily Barker - Over My Shoulder (official video)
Emily Barker - Sunrise (official video)
Emily Barker - Sweet Kind of Blue (Official video)
Emily Barker - Sister Goodbye (official video)