Welcome Back

7th Grade Otto Middle School

Back to School

The 7th Grade Team is looking forward to a great year, and the students have already made a positive impression. The students have done an excellent job of getting back into the school routine and setting an example for the new 6th graders. We look forward to seeing all the wonderful things this 7th grade group accomplishes in the coming months.

Counselor Corner with Nikole Roberson

Welcome Back!

I am so excited to be with your 7th graders! This is going to be a great year with lots of amazing events. The teachers have some exciting activities planned with technology and all of the elective choices. I look forward to attending many of the football, volleyball, basketball, orchestra, choir and band events.

A few dates to keep in mind:

September 14, Progress Reports

October 7, Report Cards

October 14, CogAT Testing

Please contact me if you have any questions.


Nikole Roberson

469-752-8517

nikole.roberson@pisd.edu

Growth Mindset Video

1st Six Weeks at a Glance

English

In English, the students began their first unit Exploring and Explaining, which will focus on expository essay writing. During this unit, students will focus on crafting strong and specific thesis statements, analyzing the structure of a well-crafted essay, and developing their first essays.


In Honors English, the students began their first unit in Crafting the Essay, which will focus on expository essay and personal narrative writing. Students will be comparing and contrasting the two types of writing as they learn to develop an understanding of both types of writing, and how they can compliment one another. The students will focus on crafting strong and specific theme and thesis statements and developing their first essays and narratives. All students will be reading every day in class and are encouraged to spend time at home reading a self-selected text.


Contact Information:

Kristin Ernst

469-752-8563

kristin.ernst@pisd.edu


Erin Kerry

469-752-8560

erin.kerry@pisd.edu


Anna Mackey

469-752-8561

anna.mackey@pisd.edu


Tara Browning

469-752-8559

tara.browning@pisd.edu


Niki Matasso

469-752-8556

niki.matasso@pisd.edu

History/PACE

In Texas History this six weeks, we began with the geography of Texas. Students will learn about the 4 regions of Texas and how diverse we are as a state. We will then move into learning about the Native American cultures that established Texas. At the end of the six weeks, the students will learn about European exploration and its contribution to the forming of Texas. Texas has a rich history and we look forward to showing your students just how great Texas is!


In PACE, the first unit is designed to introduce the foundations of Texas culture and the year-long theme of change. Students will explore the geographical regions of Texas. They will learn about early American Indian cultures in Texas and how those cultures adapted to and modified their environments. Students will study the European explorers of Texas, how they changed the American Indian cultures, and how they affected the culture of Texas today.


Contact Information:

Miriam Carpenter

469-752-8571

miriam.carpenter@pisd.edu


Daniel Moman

469-752-8570

daniel.moman@pisd.edu


Brent Truitt

469-752-8576

brent.truitt@pisd.edu


Zeshan Khan

469-752-8577

zeshan.khan@pisd.edu

Math

MATH 7 (Proportional Relationships)

This 6 weeks we are learning:

  • How to use ratios to describe proportional relationships using a variety of strategies.
  • Using proportionality to convert from one unit of measure to another
  • Determining the constant of proportionality
  • Representing proportional relationships using tables, graphs, and equations

MATH 7H (Real Numbers and Pythagorean Theorem)

This 6 weeks we are:

  • ​Converting between standard and Scientific Notation
  • Comparing and ordering rational and irrational numbers
  • Using the Pythagorean Theorem to solve problems
  • Describing similarity

Math Rocks 7 (Algebraic Models and Functions/Linear Relationship)

This 6 weeks we are learning:

  • ​Create and solve algebraic expressions
  • Create and solve algebraic inequalities
  • Recognize and apply constant rates of change to formulate conclusions
  • The student applies the mathematical process standards when using properties of linear functions to write and represent in multiple ways, with and without technology, linear equations, inequalities, and systems of equations.


Contact Information:

Fern Johnson

469-752-8573

trudy.johnson@pisd.edu


Cindy Ramirez

469-752-8553

cindy.ramirez@pisd.edu


Alex Rosenfield

469-752-8595

alex.rosenfield@pisd.edu


Caresir Gonzales

469-752-8597

caresir.gonzales@pisd.edu


Elizabeth Jacobsen

469-752-8591

elizabeth.jacobsen@pisd.edu

Science

Science is studying the 7 Texas ecoregions this six weeks. We will be discovering and understanding how living and non-living factors interact in and with an ecosystem. At the end of the six weeks we will begin Bottle Biology, a long-term project where the students will create microhabitats.


Contact Information:

Jamie Bell

469-752-8587

jamie.bell@pisd.edu


Maritza Bradshaw

469-752-8589

maritza.bradshaw@pisd.edu


Ron Ohlig

469-752-8594

ron.ohlig@pisd.edu


Elizabeth Jacobsen

469-752-8591

elizabeth.jacobsen@pisd.edu

Meet the English Department

Each six weeks a new department will be featured