The S.E.C

By Neil Saini and Ajitabh Mannal

What is the SEC?

The SEC was created in 1934 to serve as a federal "watchdog" administrative agency to protect public and private investors from stock market fraud, deception and insider manipulation on Wall Street. The SEC is still in existence and it stands for Securities and Exchange Commission.

Who is in the SEC?

There are five commissioners in the SEC that are appointed by the President of the United States and they are approved by the Senate. The first commissioners were Joseph P. Kennedy, James M. Landis, William O. Douglas, Jerome N. Frank, Edward C. Eicher, Ganson Purcell, and James J. Caffrey. They were appointed by President Franklin D. Roosevelt. Nowadays, the commissioners are Mary L. Schapiro, Daniel M. Gallagher, Luis A. Aguilar, Mary Jo White, Kara M. Stein and Michael S. Piwowar.

Goals of the SEC

The SEC was founded to protect people from stock market fraud and getting cheated out of their money. They also made sure that Wall Street is free from deception and insider manipulation.

Successes and failures of the SEC

The SEC's successes is that that organization is still around today. This organization is so successful that its intentions and its goals are so effective that people in the United States appreciate it as much as they did since its inception in 1934. This organization has not had many failures in its history.
Big image

S.E.C. Chairman. Washington, D.C. April 13. An informal picture of James M. Landis, Chairman of the Securities and Exchange Commission

Big image
S.E.C. Commisioner Washington, D.C. June 9. William O. Douglas, appearing before the Senate Banking and Currency Committee