Chartwell School: The Bulldog Bark

Mid-Summer Update

July 29, 2021

Big picture

Letters from Division Directors

Earlier this week, division directors emailed letters to all families including important information to start the new year. The letters are included below for easy reference.

Mark Your Calendars!

Hello, Bulldogs! We are looking forward to welcoming our students and families back to campus this August for the 2021-2022 school year. Here are a few important dates to be sure you have on your calendars. You can download and print the full calendar below.


Thursday, August 12 - New Family Orientation and Picnic, 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm


Monday, August 16 - HIGH SCHOOL First Day of School; 8:30 am start


Tuesday, August 17 - LMS First Day of School, Lower School arrival at 8:15 am, Middle School arrival at 9:00 am


Thursday, September 9 - LMS Back to School Night and Family BBQ, 3:15 pm - 6:00 pm


Thursday, September 16 - HS Back to School Night and Family BBQ, 3:15 pm - 6:00 pm

Lower and Middle School Updates

Homeroom teachers will send a welcome letter by August 9 and you will have the opportunity to have a meeting with your child’s teacher on Friday, August 13 (students welcome to attend.) The purpose of the meeting is for you to meet your teacher and provide background information on your child.

  • Parent Conferences for all students

    • 15-20 mins.

    • Live in-person or via Zoom as per family choice

    • Parents/Guardians will share information with your teacher about your child

    • Homeroom teachers will schedule the appointments


Materials and Supplies
Executive functioning is a major tenet of our curriculum and we will supply all needed materials, including a Chromebook. Please use these supplies; you do not need to purchase your own. You will only need to provide the following, starting on August 17:

  • Backpack

  • Lunchbox

  • Reusable water bottle with fresh water

Meet Our New Faculty

Reminder: Summer Reading: HS

Hopefully, your student got a break this summer (HERE’s an article about that.) If your student did read a book this summer, help them remember to bring the book and be ready to talk and write about it when we start school!

Reminder: Summer Reading: LMS

This summer we are encouraging students to read books and/or listen to human-narrated books on our account with Learning Ally. Details can be found in this letter from Mrs. Amaditz to families and this Bingo Board.

Reminder: Summer Tips for Learning

Here are some tips from Mrs. Benjamin OTR/L to make this summer not only fun but a learning experience for success and preparation for the upcoming school year.

Questions?

If you have questions for us, please contact one of the following Chartwell Team Members:


Head of School, Kate Mulligan: kmulligan@chartwell.org

Assistant Head and Director of Outreach and Family Engagement, Danielle Patterson: dpatterson@chartwell.org

Director of Lower and Middle Schools, Jodi Amaditz: jamaditz@chartwell.org

Co-Directors of High School: Cheryl Milton (cmilton@chartwell.org) and Jeff Morton (jmorton@chartwell.org)

Director of Student Support: Billy Swift bswift@chartwell.org

Director of Campus Management and Safety, John Langrill: jlangrill@chartwell.org

STEAM or EdTech: Topher Mueller at tmueller@chartwell.org

Director of Advancement and Communications, Elena Mueller: emueller@chartwell.org

Middle School Athletics: Rory Patterson rpatterson@chartwell.org

High School Athletics: Garrett Benjamin gbenjamin@chartwell.org

Technical Support: John Langrill at jlangrill@chartwell.org