The Seahawks Call

Week of November 16, 2020 Volume 10

Let's Celebrate Our Teachers! It's American Education Week!

Big picture
Big picture

Message from Principal Taylor

Reminder with having cameras turned on!

    Dear Parents/Guardians,

    Now that the second quarter has begun, schools will not be as lenient with enforcing the attendance policy to students who fail to have their cameras on during instruction.

    This is a reminder that it is CCPS policy (in order to verify attendance) for students who have a working camera for it to be turned on for the entire duration of the class period. Students who do NOT have a working camera must do the following in order to be marked present for class:

    1. Inform your teacher that your camera is not working.

    2. Make sure you participate in the lesson via the chat room or "unmuting yourself" to answer questions or share responses.

    If a student, without a working camera, fails to participate in other ways to truly indicate he/she is present, the teacher will mark the student absent.

    Thank you, in advance, for reviewing this CCPS policy with your child.

Thanksgiving Food Drive extended through Nov. 20th

Unfortunately, we didn't have strong participation with our drive through Thanksgiving food drive on Thursday, so we are extending our food drive efforts through Nov. 20th. We will continue to have a collection box outside of the school for easy drop off. Help us to help others!

Career Technology and Education (CTE) Programs

Hello 8th Grade Families,

We hope you were able to check out the CTE promotional video below:

https://www.ccboe.com/ccboetv/?videos=cte-virtual-showcase-promo

This is a reminder that the Somers PTSO will be hosting a virtual Parent Information Night focusing on all Career Technology and Education (CTE) Programs in the county on Thursday, November 19th at 6 pm! This Parent Information Night will have CTE Specialists actually present to answer any questions and provide additional information.

This is a great opportunity for parents and students to login to gain extra knowledge for the upcoming CTE application process.

Participants must register in advance. The registration link is below:

https://ccboe.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZ0qduyspz8uG9EPLg3FwkhbxAdBa41rsYd-


Important date to remember:

CTE Application opens on Monday, November 23, 2020 and will close on Tuesday, December 22, 2020


Hope to see you on Thursday, Nov. 19th @ 6 p.m.!


Sincerely,

Counseling Department

Milton Somers Yearbook

This year is unlike any other--help us document the life of our Somers Seahawks during the 2020-2021 school year. If you are interested in joining the yearbook staff, please fill out this application no later than November 17th. Meetings will run on Wednesday's from December through April. If you have any questions about yearbook, please contact Mrs. Strobel or Ms. Villella-Villela.

https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=fts6jik6w0CD3e0PwztGw4gSStbbLG5Cgwnj7QasLwlUMUFKMVg4QjhYWFlRTkZZMFlCOEs0WEVZTi4u

SCHOOL SUPPORTS

ADMINISTRATIVE TEAM

Marlon Walker - 6th Grade VP - mwalker@ccboe.com

Cynthia Panizzi - 7th Grade VP - cpanizzi@ccboe.com

Wualanda Thenstead - 8th Grade VP - wthenstead@ccboe.com

Sonia Matthew - Administrative Asst. - smatthew@ccboe.com


COUNSELING SUPPORTS

Kenneth Tojek - 6th Grade Counselor - ktojek@ccboe.com

Nancy Franklin - 7th Grade Counselor - nfranklin@ccboe.com

Brittany Williams - 8th Grade Counselor - bwilliams@ccboe.com


INSTRUCTIONAL LEADERSHIP TEAM

Andrea Johnson - Reading Resource Teacher (Reading) - afjohnson@ccboe.com

Jennifer Branham - Instructional Resource Teacher (Math) - jbranham@ccboe.com

Suzanne Johnson - Learning Resource Teacher (Gifted Education and Testing Coordinator) - srjohnson@ccboe.com

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Kathy Kiessling, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students), or Nikial M. Majors, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.