By yabeth lagisso

Greece flag

The flag of Greece is blue and white and was officially adopted on December 22, 1978.The Greek flag has nine horizontal blue and white stripes, with a white cross on a blue square field in the canton position (upper left corner by the flagpole). The white cross symbolizes Greek Orthodoxy, the established religion of Greece.The blue and white colors represent the seas surrounding Greece with its blue water and white wave crests.

The capital of Greece

Athens was the largest city in Greece, and controlled a region called Attica. Between the many mountains were fertile valleys, with many farms. Athens became rich because Attica also had valuable sources of silver, lead and marble. Athens also had the biggest navy in Greece.

Big image

The 4 major cities of Greece

Athens the capital city of Greece has over 4 million people, which is over a third of the population of Greece,


  1. Larissa is the capital and largest city of the Thessaly region of Greece and capital of the Larissa regional unit.

Big image



The reasons why people should visit is

-Greece has more archaeological museums than any other country in the world.

People can also go to the temple of Hephaestus because the Temple of Hephaestus is nevertheless one of the best Greek temples left in existence. Also people can go there to learn more about the history of Greece. And can go there to see the Delphi it is the Second to the Acropolis in Athens, Delphi is Greece’s most popular archaeological site.


Greece is located at the southeast end of Europe and it is the southernmost country of the Balkan Peninsula.

Big image


Aristotle divided Greek governments into monarchies, oligarchies, tyrannies and democracies, and most historians still use these same divisions. For the most part, Greece began by having monarchies, then oligarchies, then tyrannies and then democracies, but at each period there were plenty of city-states using a different system, and there were many which never did become democracies or tyrannies at all.


The euro denominations include seven banknotes with values of 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and 500 euros. There are eight coins worth 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 cents, as well as coins worth 1 and 2 euro. Also Greece's monetary unit is the Euro. No other currency is accepted and it is best to exchange dollars or other currency at a bank.

Interesting facts

  • The Parthenon in Athens is the most famous surviving building of Ancient Greece and one of the most famous buildings in the world.

    Greece is one of the most mountainous countries in Europe.

    The highest mountain in Greece is Mount Olympus, it has over 50 peaks with the highest reaching 2917 metres (9570 feet)

    The total population of Greece is 11,304,000.

    The capital of Greece is Athens which has a population of 655,780 people

    Athens is one of the oldest cities in Europe. The first Greek inhabitants first lived there over 7000 years ago.

    The Olympic Games, which originated in ancient Greece as many as 3,000 years ago, were revived in the late 19th century and have become the world’s preeminent sporting competition. From the 8th century B.C. to the 4th century A.D., the Games were held every four years in Olympia, located in the western Peloponnese peninsula, in honor of the god Zeus.


Big image


Big image