Friday Feature

News and Notes for the Madison Staff (12/18/14)

Resources to help students become accustomed to skills needed in the PARCC assessment!

Check out these great resources and practice them with your grade level students!


  • Practice click and dragging protractors!
  • Typing into fraction boxes!
  • First Graders can practice dragging numbers to skip count!
  • More resources are being added to this page as PARCC shares addtional needed skills.


https://docs.google.com/document/d/1jeTU1Z4hB3CRTvS8jtdsoCRlP0BtKe9fWfGGJwLpF5k/edit?usp=sharing
Please take it by January 16. Results are tabulated by District 200 leadership to track progress in our PLCs.

St. Baldrick's Day

Girls wishing to participate in donating hair for wigs for cancer patients, should be referred to this site: http://pantene.com/en-us/experience-main-section2/beautiful-lengths. Girls will be able to donate in this way at our St. Baldrick's celebration.

SIP Math Goal Update

Students will be taking Math Local Assessments in January. How is your grade doing on improving in our target area? If you would like assistance in looking at fall locals and targeting specific students or strategies to build understanding, let me know. I'd love to help.

Teaching and Learning Site for Local Test ID Codes

Pam is delivering hard copies of ELA and Math Local Assessment codes, but refer to the "Teaching and Learning" site here if you need them again.

  • Sign in to Google.
  • Go to the "Brady Bunch" icon and find "sites".
  • Type "Teaching and Learning" on the search form.
  • Go to you "District Posts" and find your grade and subject area.

Important Dates

Fri, Dec 19: 1:15PM Winter Parties

Fri, Dec 19: District online reading assessments are due and final

Fri, Dec 19: 2:15PM Winter Grade Level Fun-time

Wed, Jan 7: AIMSweb Bechmarking Day

Wed, Jan 14: Staff Meeting: 5 Essentials Training

Fri, Jan 16: PLC Survey deadline

Fri, Jan 16: 8AM-3PM Elementary Institute Day

Wed, Jan 21: Staff Meeting

Thu, Jan 22: 12:00PM PTA Meeting

Fri, Jan 23: 1:00PM Reading Incentive Kick-off Assembly

Sat, Jan 24: Pancake Breakfast

Mon, Jan 26: 6:30PM Reflections Ceremony at Hubble

Tue, Jan 27: 2PM 1960s at Madison Assembly

Wed, Jan 28: Staff Meeting

Fri, Feb 6: Winter Carnival

Tue, Feb 24: 1970s at Madison Assembly (TBD)

Fri, Feb 27: 8AM-3PM Institute Day

Fri, Mar 20: St. Baldrick's Day

Fri, May 22: EMD