New Jersey

13 Original Colonies

Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Hampshire, New York, Delaware, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia


The Province of New Jersey was one of the Middle Colonies and became a US State of New Jersey in 1776. Originally it was settled by Europeans as part of New Netheland, but later came under English rule.


Along with their holdings in New York, New Jersey was originally settled in 1623 by the Dutch as New Netherlands .

In 1664, after obtaining control of Dutch holdings lying between Virginia and New England, the Duke of York made a proprietary grant to Sir George Carteret and Lord Berkeley, of the land between the Hudson and the Delaware River. These men intended to profit from real estate sales. The new grant was named New Jersey for Carteret, who was governor of the Isle of Jersey.

One of the Middle Colonies, New Jersey started out as a Proprietary colony but in 1702 it was granted a Royal charter

New Jersey, in 1787, was the third state to ratify the Constitution.

(1624) New York (originally New Amsterdam) [Homepage, Constitution]