Caribou Trails Update

Published by Crawford Elementary October 3, 2021

In like a Lion

I hope this finds you well and with water and power restored. Winter seems to have begun with a strong showing and much wet snow to insulate us in the winter ahead.


While students were out of school Friday, teachers were able to take advantage of a wealth of opportunities to explore topics, all to the benefit of our students.


We explored the new math program, iReady, and learned of the personalized learning opportunities through MyPath in reading and math. In addition to these curricular topics, all staff could explore topics such as Deescalating techniques, talk with experienced practitioners to explore how to support students with challenging behaviors, and learn about responses to trauma and brain injury. All of our teachers are so happy to be able to support students in their progress and to work with families to help students be successful here at Crawford.


We are almost at the end of the first quarter of school, and students are reintegrating into school. Stamina is increasing in all areas, including recess! It is very interesting to watch students relearn how to be in school, especially considering that they have had so many disruptions. Please continue to encourage students to take part in all aspects of school so that they can progress in their studies and be successful at school.


Stay warm and dry and I will see you in the car line!


Teresa Lesage

Wellness Check for Students and Staff

Read here for more information on keeping our schools symptom free.

PTO Membership Application

Please fill out this membership form to join our Crawford Parent Teacher Organization.

Upcoming Events

  • Ongoing - Masking requirement in school - all students, staff and visitors must wear masks while inside the school building.


This Week:


  • Mon. October 4 -8 - Bus Route 92 is cancelled for the week
  • Tues. October 5
  • Wed. October 6-Puppet Show, 3rd grade 10 am
  • Thur. October 7 - Picture Retake Day
  • Fri. Oct. 8 - Spirit Day (Wear blue or your Crawford Spirit wear!)
Popcorn Friday!


Next Week:


  • Mon. October 11-
  • Tues. October 12-
  • Wed. October 13-Grant Field Trip to UAF 9:15-2:00 pm
  • Thurs. October 14-
  • Fri. Oct. 15 - Early Out at 12:40 pm - Last day of the first quarter
Spirit Day (Wear blue or your Crawford Spirit wear!)



Week After:


  • Mon. October 18 -Tues. October 19 -
  • Wed. October 20-Teacher Grades Due
  • Thurs. October 21- Jones to UAF- 9:15-2:00 pm
  • Fri. Oct. 22 - Spirit Day (Wear blue or your Crawford Spirit wear!)
  • Popcorn Friday!


Last Week of October


  • Mon. October 25 -
  • Tues. October 26 -
  • Wed. October 27- Fall Fun Spirit Day
  • Thurs. October 28- No School Parent/Teacher Conferences
  • Fri. Oct. 29 - No School Parent/Teacher Conferences


October Refrigerator Calendar

FNSBSD Academic Calendar

Crawford Office Staff Contacts

Office Hours are 7:30am-3:30pm

Please call or email for information Phone: 372-3306

Attendance Secretary: Tonya Higdon email: Tonya.Higdon@k12northstar.org

Administrative Secretary: Clarissa Kougl email: Clarissa.Kougl@k12northstar.org