Owl Pellets

Chloe Jones, Quamek James, Daisy Ramirez, and Keturah Starks


Owls are a group of mainly nocturnal birds classified as belonging to the order Strigiformes, a group which is most closely related to nightjars (Caprimulgiformes). The owls are divided into two families:Tytonidae (Barn Owls) and related species, and Strigidae (Typical Owls).


Since Owls do not have teeth, they can't chew their food. Therefore, they use their strong and sharp beaks to rip their prey apart and then swallow large chunks whole. The owl slowly digests its meal by separating the softer materials (such as meat) from the harder material (such as bones). It then regurgitates the harder material along with indigestible items such as feathers and fur in the form of a pellet.

Where does the Owl plays a role in the Food Web?

Big image

Noises from some types of the Owl Species!

The Distinctive Calls of Owls: A Sampler


Time to see what's inside!!

Question Time!!

1. An organism at the top level of the food chain, for example in this food chain the owl, is called a(n) __________.
Big image
a. Autotroph

b. Prey

c. The top dog

d. Apex Predator

2. In the food chain the grass has 1,000 units of energy, about how many units of energy should one expect to find in the carnivores/secondary consumers of this food chain?
Big image
a. 100

b. 1,000

c. 10

d. 0