From the Boardroom

Wayne County Board of Education Meeting Recap [4-28-22]

Big picture

Board holds Budget Work Session

On April 28, 2022 the Wayne County Board of Education held a Budget Work Session. Upon opening the meeting, the Board began its discussion of the Superintendent's Proposed Budget. Discussion centered around a myriad of topics, including:

  • The anticipated drop in state funding due to the district’s drop in average daily membership (ADM) since the pandemic began in 2020;

  • New funding requests to the Board of Commissioners by the district to cover increases in local supplements for teachers, additional local costs for the new Wayne School of Technical Arts, increased operational costs (e.g., utilities), and costs associated with increased salary expenses for classified staff;

  • Increased funding for media centers and band programs;

  • Budget for legal fees, next steps for the RFP process for the legal contract, and strategies for reducing costs;

  • Textbook concerns, reductions in textbook funds from the State, and what strategies are in place to give students access to new print or digital textbook resources;

  • Concerns about utility expenses at some schools; and,

  • Costs and available funding sources for maintenance needs at older buildings, including Dillard Middle and Goldsboro High for projects such as roofs, HVAC units, etc.

Prior to adjournment, Superintendent David Lewis expressed that conversations with the County Manager have been positive thus far, and that he believes there is a willingness among local officials to help as much as they can.

Board Meeting Resources for the April 28, 2022 Meeting

The full April 28, 2022 Board Meeting can be viewed by clicking on Video Link.This meeting and past meeting videos can be viewed by clicking on the following Board Meeting Videos Link. The April 28, 2022 Meeting agenda and associated materials presented to the Board can be viewed by clicking on Meeting Link.

DISTRICT 1: Mr. Don Christopher West (Chair) -

DISTRICT 2: Mr. H. Len Henderson -

DISTRICT 3: Ms. Patricia A. Burden (Vice-Chair) -

DISTRICT 4: Mrs. Jennifer S. Strickland -

DISTRICT 5: Mr. Craig Foucht -

DISTRICT 6: Mr. Wade Leatham -

AT LARGE: Mr. J. Tommy Sanders III -