Branches of Government

Ryley Gravel


There are three branches of government; Executive, Legislative, and Judicial. One branch does not have full power nor can make a decision without the other branches having a say in an idea or bill. Each branch has a different role that makes them important in our government. The Executive Branch enforces the laws and conducts domestic and foreign affairs. The Legislative Branch, which is composed of Senators and the House of Representatives, creates the laws. The Judicial Branch is made up of judges and the courts whom interprets the laws.


The founding fathers felt it was important to create the Constitution so that one branch of government would not have more authority over the others. To make this a reality the government created the system called checks and balances. This was made to keep the United States in order and not chaotic.