September 23, 2021

Wildcat Adventures

Big picture

UPDATED WSD COVID-19 Protocols 2021-22

Good afternoon, Wausau School District Families:


As we move forward in the 2021-22 school year, we want to take this opportunity to share an update with you about some changes to the District’s COVID-19 mitigation strategies following Monday night’s Board of Education meeting.


The Board approved two matrices, one for elementary schools and one for secondary schools, that are guidelines for analyzing case data. They are real tools that allow administrators, school staff, and nurses to collaborate around data and context to find the best actions to keep your students in school, in-person safely, and provide them with the highest quality education at the same time.


While you’ll notice differences between the elementary and secondary school matrices, the goal is the same: keeping your students safe while offering them the highest quality educational experiences at the same time.


Below is the elementary level matrix.

Big picture
The elementary matrix is only applied at the classroom level. The biggest change is that staff and students, in any given classroom with a positive case, will be required to wear masks, for at least 10 days. If there are 4 or more unrelated cases in any given classroom, principals, nursing staff, and other administration members will review the cases to determine whether the class will move to remote learning. Any changes will be communicated to you.

Important Dates

Thursday, September 30: Bridging Brighter Smiles at Stettin

Monday, October 4: First day of Growing Great Minds

Friday, October 8: School Picture Day

Wednesday, October 13: Grade 4 to the NTC Farm

Friday, October 22: Grade 1 to the School Forest

October 27: 1st Quarter Ends

October 27, 28, 29: No School

Friday, November 5: Last day of Growing Great Minds

Thursday, November 4: Grade 3 to the School Forest

Wednesday, November 17: Picture Retake Day

Big picture

An Invitation for Kindergarten Parents/Guardians

You are invited to a morning of causal conversation, a chance to make connections with other families, and learn a little about our school. After the day begins and the children are busy in their classrooms, please consider joining me in the Stettin library.

Coffee and a snack will be provided.

Please click here to RSVP or email khalvors@wausauschools.org.

Sincerely,

Mrs. Halvorsen

Infinite Campus Portal Sign Up



All families will want to sign up for Infinite Campus parent portal. This portal allows you to see grades, pay school fees, update phone numbers and addresses and check busing information. To set up your portal:

  • Go to the District’s website: www.wausauschools.org
  • Select ABOUT WSD
  • Select Infinite Campus
  • Select Infinite Campus Parent Portal
  • Select New User (Bottom of the white panel titled Wausau School District)
Enter the Activation Code to complete the registration process

If you do not have your Activation Code, please email msteffen@wausauschools.org.

Create your own username and password. Once you have established your own username and password, the activation code listed below will no longer be valid.

iPad Agreement

If you have not paid your $10 iPad insurance fee, please do this as soon as possible.


Your coverage after paying the insurance is as follows:

The first repair due to accidental damage will be fully covered. The second repair due to accidental damage will be fully covered. All remaining repairs will be billed to the family at 50% of actual cost. Fully replaced iPads will be billed at 50% of actual replacement cost. (District retains replaced device.)


If you decline to pay the insurance, you take full financial responsibility for any loss or damage to the device issued to your child.


District Technology Help Line:
715-261-0833

Big picture
Big picture

Grades 4-5 After-School Athletics

Flag Football

September 20, 22, 27, 29 and October 4, 6
3:30-5:00


Volleyball

September 21, 23, 28, 30 and October 5, 7, 12, 14

3:30-5:00


Please contact Mr. Dzaidosz with any questions.

A Resource for Families from Mrs. Melander, School Counselor

Visitors to Stettin

When you visit us at Stettin between 8:00-4:00, we ask that you use the Main Entry. In efforts to keep our students safe, all visitors are greeted at the front door through out intercom system. Mrs. Steffen, Mrs. Halvorsen, or Mrs. Dallman will welcome you inside.


You will be asked to stop at the office to register as a visitor and receive your visitor badge.


The first time you visit, you will be asked for a driver's license as part of our security procedures. Subsequent visits will not need a driver's license.


Thank you for your help in keeping our students safe.

Click here for our Stettin Family Handbook

A comprehensive guide to life at Stettin.

Big picture
Big picture

What's for breakfast and lunch each day?

Our breakfast and lunch menus can be found on the following link https://wausau.nutrislice.com/menu/menus-eula. All nutrition information regarding the menus can be found on this link as well.

Do you have questions about the bus?

We are happy to help you when we can at school.

Many times, however, First Student Bus Company is your best first contact.



FIRST STUDENT
Phone: 715-842-2268
FAX: 715-845-3155

Our 2021-2022 Stettin Staff

Kindergarten

Kelly Meeks kmeeks@wausauschools.org

Taylor Prososki tprososki@wausauschools.org


Grade 1

Cassie Zipp czipp@wausauschools.org

Kristie Butler kbutler@wausauschools.org

Haley Ramcheck hramcheck@wausauschools.org


Grade 2

Beth Gruber bgruber@wausauschools.org

Ashley Langbecker alangbec@wausauschools.org


Grade 3

Timille Johnson tjohnson@wausauschools.org

Kristin Paulson kpaulson@wausauschools.org


Grade 4

Kelly Brandt kbrandt@wausauschools.org

Thomas Dziadosz tdziados@wausauschools.org


Grade 5

Mark Sepnafski msepnafs@wausauschools.org

Taylor Schlinkmann tschlinkmann@wausauschools.org


Special Education

Amanda Jacobson ajacobso@wausauschools.org

Jill Kleman jkleman@wausauschools.org


Speech and Language

Meghan Oselka moselka@wausauschools.org


EL

Kara Lee kalee@wausauschools.org


Encore

Art

Shanna Henricksen shenriksen@wausauschools.org

Science

Jeanette Ryan jryan@wausauschools.org

Music

Sam Ward sward@wausauschools.org

Physical Education

Vickie Christianson vchristianson@wausauschools.org

Library Media Specialist

Julie Gaskey jgaskey@wausauschools.org


Pupil Services

School Counselor

Nicole Melander nmelande@wausauschools.org

School Social Worker

Jennifer Graf jgraf@wausauschools.org

School Psychologist

Hallie Beal hbeal@wausauschools.org


Health Aide

Krista Dallman kdallman@wausauschools.org


Nutrition Services

Tammy Lease tlease@wausauschools.org


Custodian

Dale Sann dsann@wausauschools.org


Administrative Assistant

Mary Steffen msteffen@wausauschools.org


Principal

Kelly Halvorsen khalvors@wausauschools.org


Paraprofessionals

Jenny Schneider, Michael Czech, Nicole Williams, Xang Lee, Matt Pijan, Erin Niewolny

WSD and Stettin Web Pages

We have recently updated our website and are currently in the process of rebuilding and improving our district and school site. Thank you for your patience as we work to be build a user-friendly and helpful site.
The Wausau School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, age, color, religion, national origin, ancestry, creed, pregnancy, marital status, parental status, sexual orientation, sex (including transgender status, change of sex or gender identity), or physical, mental, emotional, or learning disability (“Protected Classes”).
WSD E-Flyers

Click here to learn about outside of school activities being offered by the community.

Wausau School District iPad Agreement

Click here if you have not filled out the iPad agreement.