Port Susan Middle School

Student & Family Update 04/17/2022

Teamwork

It was fun to watch our 6th grade students in Mr. Austin's leadership class work together this week. They were able to make quite the tower by working together and using their communication skills.

Knights Gear!

CLICK THIS LINK to order your Knights Gear. Our PTO has done a wonderful job this year making this available for our staff, students, and families. This round, there are red t-shirts, white sweatshirts, and other quarter zip options. Online ordering closes this week!
Big picture

Yearbook Sales

We currently have our memory books for sale. Students can purchase through our office for $20 (cash or check) or you can go to our website online to purchase by credit card.
Big picture

End of Year Information

As we begin our final quarter of the 2021-2022 school year, I want to begin sharing dates and information regarding end of the year events for students & families to put on their calendars.


Upcoming Dates/End of Year:

May 2-20 SBA Testing

May 23-27 Square Dancing

June 15 NO LATE START (full day)

June 17 End of Year Celebrations and 8th Grade Evening Promotion

June 20 Last Day of School (9:40 a.m. release)

8th Grade Parents/Promotion

If you're interested in helping to organize the 8th grade promotion celebration on the evening of June 17th, please reach out to our PTO (portsusanpto@gmail.com) for volunteer opportunities.


In addition, as part of our celebration, we'd like to put together a slideshow of memories for our 8th grade students. We have pictures throughout their time here at Port Susan, but would like to reach out and ask that you share any pictures from their time together that you have as well. These could be pictures from preschool until the present & the more students in the pictures, the better!


Please email these pictures directly to aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu or wholtum@stanwood.wednet.edu by June 1st, 2022.

Power Hour/Student Support

We have added a day of support for Power Hour this round. Thank you to those that have made this happen for our students as well as parents for their support in transporting students. It has been a success!
Big picture

Spring Sports & Club Information

It is GREAT to see so many students out this spring participating in sports and activities. Thank you to all the coaches, club supervisors, and our parents for their continued support in providing these opportunities for our students!
Big picture
Big picture

Reminder...SBA Testing

SBA Testing this Spring

  • Test approximate length:

    • ELA PT (100-180 min) *May 2nd - 6th

    • Math CAT (40-60 min) *May 2nd - 6th

    • ELA CAT (40-60 min) *May 9th - 13th

    • Math PT (40-90 min) *May 9th - 13th

    • Science (120 min) *May 16th - 20th

    • Make up testing

      • Science by June 3rd

      • ELA/Math June 10th

  • We will keep regular bell schedule
  • Testing will be completed through content classroom during regular instruction time. Limit testing to 3 weeks in length and then allow 3 weeks for make up/completion as needed.

Week of April 18th - 22nd

Monday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Lesson


Tuesday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support


Wednesday:

RED Wednesday


Thursday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support


Friday:

Regular Schedule

Advisory - Homework Support

Thank you!

Cherae Almanza, Principal calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crysty Auckland, Assistant Principal/Athletic Director cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu


Teacher Emails

Dave Austin (6-8 Fitness & 6 Leadership) daustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Jonathan Bletscher (6-8 Band) jbletscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joan Campbell (6-7 Math) jcampbell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Garry Carlson (6-7 Math) gcarlson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Charlene Franck (7 ELA & 6-8 Art) CFranck@stanwood.wednet.edu

Grace Gale (6 Science & 6-8 STEM/Robotics) GGale@stanwood.wednet.edu

Chelsea Hanson (6-8 ELA/Humanities) CHanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Nate Hanson (6-8 Computers/Digital Effects) nhanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Audrie Harrington (6/7 ELA & 7/8 Leadership) aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu

Deborah Hepper (6/7 Social Studies/History) DHepper@stanwood.wednet.edu

Seth Hills (6/8 History) shills@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Johnson (6-8 Assist) ljohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wade Johnson (7/8 Science) wjohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rebecca Klein (6/7 Science) rklein@stanwood.wednet.edu

Meghan Lawrence (6-8 PBS) mlawrence@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ellianna Martin (6-8 Math) emartin@stanwood.wednet.edu>,

Daniel Mccrumb (6 Math/Science & 7/8 Outdoor Ed) DMccrumb@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sarah Oldow (6 ELA/Social Studies) soldow@stanwood.wednet.edu

Catherine Perry (6-8 EL) cperry@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tracy Riley (6-8 ELA) TRiley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kelcie Rocha (7/8 Math) krocha@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brad Rochon (7/8 Science) brochon@stanwood.wednet.edu

Connie Schmidt (6-8 Health) cschmidt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sheri Schroeder (8 History/ELA) sleeschroeder@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kym Shoemaker (7/8 Math) kshoemaker@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crystal Titus (6-8 Fitness) ctitus@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kayte White (8 ELA & 6 Cultures) kwhite@stanwood.wednet.edu

Julia Zurcher (7 History & 7/8 Home Ec) jzurcher@stanwood.wednet.edu


Office Support

Jayde Piggot (6 Counselor) jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

Keli Niegemann (7/8 Counselor) kniegemann@stanwood.wednet.edu

Emily Bowne (School Psychologist) ebowne@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kandyce Hansen (Speech Language Pathologist) khansen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sara Harlan (Librarian) sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu

District Information

Volunteers

As we welcome volunteers back into our buildings on April 11th, we will continue to follow the practice that there are more pertinent times than others for volunteers to be in classrooms. If there are times when volunteers would be more appropriately placed in other capacities in the building than in your classroom, please let your principal know.
Stanwood-Camano School District Replacement Capital Projects and Technology Levy

REPLACEMENT CAPITAL PROJECTS AND TECHNOLOGY LEVY

Remember to vote by April 26, 2022

Learn more detailed information about the proposed levy at https://www.stanwood.wednet.edu/levy


This proposed local replacement levy would fund critical facility and technology needs not funded by the state.

50% is to be used for long-term facility needs and 50% is to be used to upgrade the technology used for student learning and staff/personnel computers at all schools.


This is not a new tax. This is a replacement of an expiring levy and will not raise taxes currently being paid if it is approved. We are committed to keeping the rates as stable as possible. The estimated tax rate per $1,000 of the assessed property value is $0.27 for each year of this proposed levy. If approved on April 26, 2022, the total local school tax rate is expected to drop in 2023 and is anticipated to decrease over the next four years. If property values go up, the amount collected ($0.27) is reduced.


If the levy fails a second time, the district may not place it on the ballot again until 2023. Planned capital projects would be delayed and the district would not be able to adequately maintain and upgrade its technology for student learning.


The District cannot wait until November to resubmit the levy for approval. When voters renew levy funding, the amount is approved by calendar years, January through December. However, public school district budgets are written by the school year which starts each September 1, running 12 months to August 31 of the following year. Public school budget planning begins in the spring for the next school year. To do so, school leaders must know how many dollars are available.


Does the increase in home prices in our community affect what taxpayers will pay with this measure?

No. Property tax assessments may fluctuate, but the district only collects the total amount approved by voters. When property values rise, rates go down.


The levy funds technology devices and supports learning for students and staff.

The proposed replacement levy will continue funding the purchase of computers, online curriculum, and technical support for students and their teachers. Specifically,

  • 25% of staff devices will be renewed each year (about 100 devices per year)

  • 25% of student Chromebooks will be renewed each year (about 1100 devices per year)

  • Out of date Chromebooks are returned for credit to purchase repair and replacement parts for current Chromebooks (screen repair, power cords, etc.)

  • Purchasing internet hotspots for families and district internet and filtering software

  • Learning applications/online learning supports (IXL, Robotics Software, Renaissance, assistive technology, Read and Write, Read Naturally, typing programs and more)

  • Communications tools such as School Messenger and S’more (school newsletters)

  • Security camera maintenance and licensing

  • Servers with backup power supplies during power outages (this allows us to maintain some phones and Wi-Fi at schools when the power goes out)


Capital Projects

The levy provides funding for prioritized facility improvements

Older systems such as boilers, roofs, fire sprinkler systems, public address systems, bleachers, security fencing, and sidewalks are at or near the end of their useful life. The proposed levy would fund:

  • New roof at Cedarhome Elementary;

  • New boilers at Cedarhome and Elger Bay;

  • Replacement fire sprinkler lines at Utsalady and Elger Bay Elementary Schools;

  • Portable maintenance at Port Susan, including new roofs, paint and siding repair;

  • Upgraded public address systems at Stanwood Middle and Stanwood Elementary Schools; and

  • Various projects to improve student safety, such as fencing, sidewalks, and bleacher replacements.


Election date

In the April 26, 2022 election, Stanwood-Camano’s Capital Projects and Technology levy requires a simple majority, or 50% + 1 of the votes cast, to pass.


How can I vote?

Please register to vote through the Washington Secretary of State election website if you haven’t already done so. The April 26, 2022, special election is an all-mail election. Registered voters who live in the Stanwood-Camano School District boundary will receive their ballot around April 8, 2022. Ballots must be postmarked by Tuesday, April 26, 2022. No postage is required to return your ballot. There is a secure ballot drop box near the Stanwood Library at 9701 271st St NW and at the Island County Administration Building at 121 N East Camano Drive on Camano Island. The drop box is open until 8 p.m. on Election Night.


Our community has a long history of supporting our schools and local control of educational programs. We are committed to openness and transparency. Please call 360-629-1200 or send an email to scsdinfo@stanwood.wednet.edu with any questions you may have about this proposal.


Our community has a long history of supporting our schools and local control of educational programs. We are committed to openness and transparency. Please call 360-629-1200 or send an email to scsdinfo@stanwood.wednet.edu with any questions you may have about this proposal.

Big picture
Big picture
The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.