Hood River Valley High School

February 2018

February 2018

February 1-2: Finals for 1st Semester. Regular bell schedule

February 5: No School - Teacher Work Day

February 6: First day of 2nd Semester - A-day

February 6: Latino Parent Meeting

February 7: Junior College Night

February 10: Valentine's Dance

February 19: No School - President's Day

February 20-23: Forecasting for 2018-2019 school year.

February 26: First day of Spring Sport Practice

March 2: Long Assembly Schedule

March 2: Opening night of Winter Play

March 5: No School - Conference Comp Day

March 6: National Honors Society Induction

March 8-9: Lock-In

Big image

Theatre News

The cast from Steel Magnolias rehearses for the first time on the raked set. The cast from Terra Nova will find out what it is like to work on a raked set tomorrow. Both plays will be performed in early March and will rotate with each other during the run of the shows. The sets for each play go from a beauty salon in Louisiana to the South Pole. Advanced sales tickets at Waucoma Bookstore.

Big image

Art Department News

Oregon Scholastic Art Awards

113 Hood River Valley High School Art entries in 2D art and 3D art received Gold Key, Silver Key or Honorable Mention Scholastic Art Awards at the state level this year! Gold Key winners will go on to the national competition to compete for medals. Gold Key winners’ work will be displayed at a special exhibit in the lobby at the Columbia Art Gallery in February. Gold Key winners will be honored at an award ceremony at the gallery on First Friday, February 2nd, at 7:00pm. Hope to see you there! For a complete list of all award winners visit the HRVHS Fine Art page on Facebook.

Gold Key winners:

Zacharia Barbour

Leticia Pacheco

Taja Adsit

Myles Broddie

Charlotte Bromham

Aileen Castro

Jade Dowdy

Catherine Frost

Alden Gendreau

Sofie Larsen-Teskey

Kennedy Leavitt

Zacharia Mathes

Theo McCormick

Finn Peterson

Cameron Rovig

Grace Schlemmer

Ellen Sova

Allison Thompson

Emma Vega

Stella Wag

Senior Portfolio Gold: Zacharia Mathes

Senior Portfolio Gold: Grace Schlemmer

Speech and Debate News

Novice Debate Team Earns First Place Finish

The Novice debate team of Claire Powell and Jacob Kaplan placed First in Junior Public Forum debate at the Hap Hingston Invitational Tournament held January 12-13 at Pacific University in Forest Grove. Hood River Valley High School entered 22 students in 46 events at the tournament. Students performed well in all levels of competition and the team sent 15 people to Semi-final or Final rounds.

HRV Top Finishers

Claire Powell and Jacob Kaplan, 1st Place Junior Public Forum debate

Jacob Kaplan, 1st Place Junior Impromptu

Mason Leavitt, 2nd Place Program Oral Interpretation, 2nd Place Extemporaneous Speaking, Semifinals Impromptu

Ruby Patterson, 2nd Place Expository Speaking

Megan Church, 3rd Place Junior Prose Reading

Isabella Brennan, 4th Place Junior Prose Reading

CJ Thorp, 5th Place Junior Prose Reading

Diego Murphy-Mendez, 5th Place Senior Impromptu

Mason Leavitt and Erick Lizama, 5th Place Senior Public Forum debate

Amy Webber and Bruce Bradbury, 6th Place Duo Interpretation

Audrey Schlemmer, 6th Place Dramatic Interpretation

Sofie Larsen-Teskey, Semifinalist in Senior Prose Reading

Big image
Big image

Wrestling Update - girls

Your Lady Wreagles earned 3rd place as a team at the Oregon Girls Wrestling State Qualifier at Thurston HS in Springfield, OR!!!
Congrats to all the ladies! 3 Wreagles (Grace, Christine & Elena) earned a trip to the Portland Memorial Coliseum for the Feb 17 State Championships!!
Wreagle wrestlers included:
100 Gracie McCafferty
105 Aryn Dahlstrom
125 Lexie McCafferty
125 Trinity Jones
135 Elena Kroll 4th
145 Grace Miller 1st
145 Ashley Crowder
145 Perla Gomes
160 Emily Mitchell 6th
180 Christine Marquez 3rd

Wrestling update - boys

Your Wreagle Boys team earned the 1st place team trophy at the Joe Stewart invitational at Rex Putnam HS in Milwaukie, OR. The Wreagles earned enough bonus points with 14 pins (including 3 from Tristan Keely & 3 from Justin Lane) to beat the 2nd place Woodburn Bulldogs by 5 points in the 13-team tournament.

The Wreagles had 5 champions;
120 Ryan Zeller
126 Chad Muenzer
132 Jason Shaner
138 Cade Parker
182 Beto Rojas
and 2 other place winners in
106 Justin Lane 3rd place
285 Adrian Ramirez 2nd Place
The whole team fought hard to earn the trophy. Congrats also to Jason Shaner Jr for earning the lower weight classes Outstanding Wrestler award.