The Rock Cycle

By: Keshone Evans


Rocks come in many different forms and they are found all around us. Let's all check to see how much we really all know about the Rock Cycle

Different Types of Rocks

There are 3 main types of rocks, and they are Sedimentary, Igneous, and Metamorphic rocks and the reason they are different is because they are formed differently.

Sedimentary Rock

Sedimentary rock are types of rocks that are formed by by the deposition of material at the Earth's surface and within bodies of water. Also sedimentary rocks are only a thin veneer of a crust that consists mainly of igneous and metamorphic rocks. Examples of sedimentary rocks are sandstone, shale, coal, limestone, etc. Limestone is a sedimentary rock in the class known as chemical sedimentary rocks. The other basic types of sedimentary rocks are clastic and organic sedimentary rocks.

Igneous Rock

Igneous rocks are types of rocks that are formed through cooling and solidification of magma and lava. Igneous rocks are also formed when volcanoes erupt, causing the magma to rise above the earth's surface. There are 2 basic types of metamorphic rocks, intrusive and extrusive rocks. Intrusive rocks form below the Earth's surface and extrusive rocks form on or above the Earth's surface.

Metamorphic Rock

Metamorphic rocks have been modified by heat, pressure and chemical process usually while buried deep below Earth's surface. Exposure to these extreme conditions has altered the mineralogy, texture and chemical composition of the rocks. There are 2 basic types of metamorphic rocks, foliated metamorphic and non-foliated rocks. Foliated rocks have a layer or banded appearance formed from heat and pressure. Non-foliated rocks don't have layer or banded appearance.