World Religions

Gabby Rodrigues


Christianity is trinitarian monotheistic, which means that Christians believe that there is one God that has three natures: The Father, The Son, and The Holy Spirit. Christians believe in God's Son Jesus who was both human and divine. They believe that The Lord sent his Son to spread God's love and good news and to die by crucifixion to save humanity. Christianity did not exist prior to Jesus' death; Christianity was founded in 33 AD by St. Peter. Christianity is based on Jesus' teachings as well as what God had told his people prior to Jesus' birth. Those that followed jesus were known as disciples; if you follow Jesus you too are a disciple. Christians believe in the trinity, creeds, the ten commandment that were given to Moses from God, Jesus' death, resurrection, and salvation, and the scriptures. The sacred texts for Christianity is the Bible, which is divided into the Old Testament and the New Testament. Christians worship on Sundays at church. Holy Days or holidays for Christians are based on their liturgical calendar: Advent, Epiphany, Lent, Good Friday, Christmas, Easter, and Pentecost. Christians also have feast days for saints and for Mary the Mother of God. Praying a major practice of Christianity.

Christianity from Judaism to Constantine: Crash Course World History #11


Judaism is a ethical monotheistic religion: Jews believe in one God, unitary and solitary. Jews believe that God is one and concerned with the actions of mankind. Judaism can be traced all the way back to the creation of mankind, but it explicitly began with Abraham, the patriarch, and the Hebrews in 2000 B.C.E. Jews were semi-nomadic so the religion traveled as they went. Abraham had brought the Hebrews to Canaan until they were enslaved in Egypt. They were then taken back to Canaan after breaking away from the shackles of Egyptian rule. Jews were persecuted and killed for their religion during World War II by Adolf Hitler, which is known as the Holocaust. The sacred texts of Judaism are the Torah, Tanakah, Talmud, and Midrash. Jews workship in synagogues on Saturdays. There are many festival days in the faith of Judaism: Passover, Shavaot, Sukkot, and Shabbat. High holy days include Rosh Hashanah (The Jewish New Year), Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement), Purim, and Hanukkah (Festival of Lights). A major practice of Judaism is eating kosher foods in order to keep their bodies pure. Jewish individuals believe action are more important than belief. They have 13 principles of Faith that they follow-- those given to them on Mount Sinai sealing the covenant with God.

Big image
Judaism: Inside the Torah - National Geographic


Hinduism is a religion that does not have a founder or a date of origin, but it is documented to be started in India in 2000 B.C.. Its fundamental Hindu beliefs are the authority of Vedas (the oldest Indian sacred texts) and Brahmans (priests), reincarnation, and the law of Karma (life after this one). Hinduism is not categorized as polytheistic or monotheistic because of the controversy it entails, but it is decidedly a theistic religion. Hindus believe in one God, but they pray to other gods, like Shiva and Vishnu, who are manifestations of a single Reality. Hindus mission in life is to escape from the cycle of rebirth (Great Cycle). Hinduism is a collective term applied to the many philosophical and religious traditions native to India. They have 4 stages of life of which different rituals are performed and required. Devotion to God is the primary purpose of Hindu life; rituals associated with sculptures and images of god in home shrines. Hindus go to temples to worship, but they worship everyday at home. There are thousands of holidays for Hindus; there is a holiday for every day of the year. Some holidays include Holi (festival of colors), Rama Navami, Diwali, and Kumbh Mela. Their sacred texts include: Vedas, Upanishads, Bhagavad Gita, and Epics.

God, Soul and World - What Is Hinduism? Pilot


Buddhism is a religion that was founded in 5th century B.C.E. by Siddartha (Buddha); He went to find an antidote for suffering in the world. Buddhism is a branch from Hinduism, it shares many of the same beliefs (ex. karma, rebirth). Buddhism is not really characterized as monotheistic because Buddhist do not worship Buddha; Buddhism is not centered around a God, but more of a way of life. There are celestial buddhas and bodhisattvas that Buddhists pray to. Buddhists believe that there is suffering in the world like Buddha once did. They believe in the Four Noble Truths: the truth of suffering, the truth of the cause of suffering, the truth of the end of suffering, and the truth of the path that frees us from suffering. In addition to this, Buddhists believe in the Eightfold Path which is the basic guide for how to live in the world. Sacred texts that Buddhists use are Pali, Tipitika, Mahayana, Vajrayana, Canons, and the Tibetan Book of the Dead. Practices and rituals that Buddhists perform include meditation, mantras, mudras, and prayer wheels. Places of worship include households or temples. Buddhism has several holidays: Buddhist New Year, Vesak, Sangha Day, Dhamma Day, Observance Day, Festival of Floating Bowls.

Buddha A Documentary About Buddhism - YouTube
Big image


Islam (means "surrender" or "submission") is a monotheistic religion that was formed in the Middle East in 622 C.E. The religion was founded on the teachings of the prophet Muhammad. Allah is the name of their god and He is the one and true God with not partner or equal. Sunni and Shi'a are two branches of Islam; they share the same tenets and beliefs-- the difference between the two is based off of familial location in a Middle Eastern country along with wealth and status. Muslims, people of the Islamic faith, believe in the Five Pillars that are detailed in their holy book, the Qur'an. The Five Pillars are the fundamental practices of Islam. Muslims gather in mosques to perform their rituals and practices: profession of faith, ritual prayer, the Zakat, fasting, and the hajj (pilgrimage). Some holidays for Muslims include Al-Hijra, Ramadan, 'Id, and Ashura.

Islam, the Quran, and the Five Pillars All Without a Flamewar: Crash Course World History #13
Big image