Trix Family News

Week of May 2, 2022

Big picture

Message from Principal Perkins (32 Instructional Days Left in Quarter 4)

Happy Sunday Family!


What a great week we are going to have!! It is "Teacher Appreciation Week"!!!!!! This is that time of year our scholars have the opportunity to show our teachers and staff how much they are appreciated. Trix Academy is very special to have teachers and staff who have been a part of our scholars lives for multiple years. They have watched our scholars grow up and have been a huge part is building both their academics success and character.


Take this time to let your teachers and staff know that you appreciate all the love and attention they have given you here at Trix. Please see the flier for some wonderful teacher appreciation ideas and themes for this week.


MSTEP testing continues next week. Below are are tips to support parents to prepare your scholars for testing next week!

Testing Tips for Parents


1. Make sure your child gets plenty of rest the night before the test.

2. On the morning of the test, your child needs to get up in plenty of time so he/she won't feel rushed.

3. Feed your child a good breakfast. Research shows that children do better on tests if they have had a good breakfast. (Trix Academy Breakfast runs from 8:05am-8:25am)

4. Do as much as you can to make your child feel comfortable. Try not to say things to make him/her feel more nervous.

5. Reassure your child that no matter the outcome of the test you will still love him/her. Encourage them to simply do their best.

6. Take an active role in your child's education throughout the school year. Let your child know you are interested in his/her learning by taking part in the entire process.

7. Give your child praise even if he or she didn't do well on the test.


Let's make it a wonderful week!!!


Sincerely,


Ms. L. Perkins, M.Ed


Principal


"Parents are the ultimate role model for children. Every word, movement, and action has an effect. No other person or outside force has a greater influence on a child than a parent." - Bob Keeshan

Big picture

IT'S TEACHER APPRECIATION WEEK!!!!!!!

It is time to celebrate all the hard work the Trix Academy staff over the course of this school year. One week is not enough time to really show our staff how much we love them but please take time to show your appreciation to our teachers this week!


You can do something special everyday next week to celebrate your teachers!

Big picture

MSTEP Testing Schedule Week of May 2nd

Monday, May 2nd 5th Grade Science

Tuesday, May 3rd 3rd Grade Math

Wednesday, May 4th 4th Grade ELA

Thursday, May 5th 6th Grade ELA

Friday, May 6th MSTEP Make Up's

PLA Townhall Family Survey Please Complete by May 4th

Big picture

SCHOOL ESSER III FUNDS SURVEY - PARENT SURVEY Need More Survey Takers!

Please complete the survey below to give your feedback on how to use our ESSER III funds to support the staff and scholars of Trix Academy.


https://forms.gle/p9w86wKg3JGumQTW7

Big picture

SUMMER ADVANTAGE 2022

"WHAT ARE YOU DOING THIS SUMMER!!!


Spots are moving quickly. Hard copy applications went out last week. Please return your form to secure your spot! One 62% of spots have been filled. Don't miss out on this opportunity for your scholars.

Summer Advantage Registration


Or call the Summer Advantage Team at 1-866-924-7226 from 8am-6pm Monday - Friday

Summer Advantage 2022: Registration & Dates Now Available
Big picture

Climate and Culture

Climate & Culture

Our scholars did great showing kindness towards each other for the month of April. Parents please continue speaking with your scholars about appropriate behaviors in school. Please continue speaking with your scholars about showing respect towards staff and students. We want to continue growing our scholars into great leaders of tomorrow.


Popcorn Fundraiser

The popcorn order is back for those who participated. Parents will receive a phone call this week on the day and time to pick up the orders. Thanks again for your support!


Top Sellers!!!

#1 Joi Fields 1st $734.00

#2 Sincere Butler 8th $712.00

#3 Darnell Williams 8th $508

#4 Dwayne Sharp $402.00


Mask

Please make sure that your scholars comes to school daily with a mask. Thanks so much to our parents who make sure your scholar is masked up before they enter the building.


Also, special thank you to those parents who have donated masks.

Big picture

Kickboard Store Friday, May 6th

Friday Book Giveaway (Brilliant Detroit)

Thank you to Brilliant Detroit for all the beautiful books and great titles. We have enough books to do a giveaway every Friday for the next few weeks. These are great books for summer reading, so please take as many as you like.
Big picture

78% Average Daily Attendance the week of April 25th - April 29th DAILY GOAL 95%

What's Happening At Trix Academy???

Big picture

Upcoming May Dates

May 2nd Monthly Assembly

May 6th Professional Development Early Dismissal 12:30pm

May 11th Kindergarten Round Up

May 17th NWEA Testing Begins

May 18th Kindergarten - 1st Grade Belle Isle Nature Center

May 25th Kindergarten Round Up

May 27th-May 30th Memorial Day Weekend No School

May 31st School Resumes

Big picture
Big picture

Attention 8th Grade Parents (Male Mentorship Opportunity)

Southfield Kappa League is now accepting application for membership for the 2022-2023 schoo year! Open to all Southfield and Detroit Metropolitan Area young men of high school aged to grow and develop their leadership talents in every phase of human endeavor.

Deadline is June 1, 2022.

Big picture
May 7th Kids Business Fair & Made In Michigan Fair

Observe the opportunity for children to launch their very own startup business PLUS shop Made In Michigan vendor booths for a family fun day of shopping, activties and outdoor fun!

May 17th 2022 Construction Science Expo

Construction careers showcase for young Detroit students emphasizing Engineering & skilled trades. New location! Durfee Innovation Society

Staff Email Addresses

Leadership

Luvenia Perkins, Principal - l.perkins@mecc-academies.org

Sheilene Smith, Operations Manager - s.smith@mecc-academies.org

Tyresha Robinson, Student Enrollment Coordinator - trobinson1@phalenacademies.org

Kenyatta Manley, Office Manager - k.manley@mecc-academies.org

Paula Hayes, Culture Specialist - p.hayes@mecc-academies.org

Laura Green, Instructional Specialist - lgreen@phalenacademies.org

Karen Orpe, Instructional Coach - k.orpe@mecc-academies.org


Special Education

Monica Mbua, Teacher - m.mbua@mecc-academies.org

Martha Miller, Social Worker - m.miller@mecc-academies.org


Kindergarten

Charlene Long, Teacher - c.long@mecc-academies.org

Patrice Nelson, Teacher - p.nelson@mecc-academies.org

Chelsea Henry, Teacher - c.henry@mecc-academies.org


First Grade

Tiara Owens, Teacher - t.owens@mecc-academies.org


Second Grade

Asia Bradley, Teacher - a.bradley@mecc-academies.org

Josef McKinney, Teacher - j.mckinney@mecc-academies.org


Third Grade

Stephanie Stamas, Teacher - s.stamas@mecc-academies.org


Fourth Grade

Sheryll Purdy, Teacher - s.purdy@mecc-academies.org

Atica Bell, Teacher - a.bell@mecc-academies.org


Fifth Grade

Michelle Kulcharyk, Teacher - m.kulcharyk@mecc-academies.org

Grace Munoz, Teacher - g.munoz@mecc-academies.org


Middle School

LaTesha Gordon, ELA Teacher - l.gordon@mecc-academies.org

Johari Brown, Math Teacher - j.brown@mecc-academies.org

Yolanda Betty, Science Teacher - y.betty@mecc-academies.org

Steven Orellana, Teacher - s.orellana@mecc-academies.org

Andre Keys, SEL Support/Teacher - a.keys@mecc-academies.org


Enrichment

Bryant Robertson, Art Teacher - b.robertson@mecc-academies.org

Edward McLean, Technology Teacher - e.mclean@mecc-academies.org

Jerel Allen, Physical Education Teacher - j.allen@mecc-academies.org


Reading Intervention

Matthew Bowman, Teacher - m.bowman@mecc-academies.org

Toiya Davis, Teacher - t.paige@mecc-academies.org

Nicolas Wolak, Teacher - n.wolak@mecc-academies.org

Big picture

Have Questions? Contact Us!

At Trix, all of our students are scholars. Our scholars learn robotics and coding; and they participate in daily enrichment courses in arts and humanities. Join us as we help to fuel our students’ dreams with: data driven instruction, brand new state- of-the art technology, and exceptional teachers who truly care about their success.