LISD Fine Arts-Theatre

September 2015

Welcome Back!

Summer has come and gone! The Fine Arts staff would like to wish you the very best school year. Please let us know what we can do to support your needs. Have a great year!

2015-16 Theme

Dream Big! Make Magic! Make a Difference!

This year, our school district will oversee all programming and special events at the Texas Educational Theatre Association's Theatrefest. Ronda Craig, theatre director at Lakeview Middle School, crafted the theme Dream Big! Making Magic! Make a Difference! This theme perfectly depicts where we are as a state organization and where we are going as a department. Our relationship with TETA will be more of a partnership as we work together to plan for this important event. Sharing this theme with TETA seems to make perfect sense. Together we are going to need to dream big to accomplish the goals we have set, we are going to need magic to make everything happen the way we want it to happen, and we will make a difference in the lives of so many. Thank you Ronda for providing the perfect theme!
Big image

"Love of a Nightingale"- Directed by Michael Valentine

What's New???

  • This year, the Fine Arts office will share a monthly newsletter. Please feel free to include pictures and news from your department.
  • We now have a script library! The Fine Arts office ordered a majority of the scripts listed on the UIL Approved Play list. At this time we have 161 scripts, and we are still awaiting another large shipment of scripts. Feel free to check these scripts out. We will share a list of all titles very soon.
  • Each month beginning in October, we will include a biography featuring one of our theatre teachers in this newsletter. Hopefully we can get to know one another a little better.
Big image

"Pippin"- Camp show directed by Scott Taylor and Dusty Thompson

Want to work an OAP Contest?

Use the following link to sign-up to work one of the UIL One-Act Play Contests we are hosting.

Theatre Advocacy

The Theatre Advocacy Committee was created to serve and support the needs of the LISD theatre teachers and students. Theatre teachers have several options for communicating with the committee and for finding out the latest news:

  • Theatre Advocacy minutes are published to the theatre website each month.

  • Theatre Advocacy provides a monthly newsletter highlighting/updating the accomplishments of the committee.
  • Proposal Forms are available to all teachers. Teachers may submit a proposal and/or a request for the committee to consider.

Theatre Advocacy Committee

Flower Mound HS

Scott Taylor- Chair

Dean Robertson

Hebron HS

Dusty Thompson- Secretary

Andrea Throop

Lewisville HS

Brad Durio

Laura McNary- Communications

The Colony HS

Dwayne Craig

Marcus HS

Denise Tooch

Kevin Westbrook

Lakeview MS

Ronda Craig

Briarhill MS

Deborah Jaquess

Creek Valley MS

Raye Ann Cox

McKamy MS

Karen Ehman

Theatre Advocacy Committee 2015-2016

Meeting Dates

September 9 4:15-5:15

October 14 4:15-5:15

November 11 4:15-5:15

December 9 4:15-5:15

January 13 4:15-5:15

February 10 4:15-5:15

March TBA

April 13 4:15-5:15

May 14 4:15-5:15

Next Inservice?

On Friday, October 9, 2015, we will have the entire day to work on curriculum, and we will reserve a small part of the day for discussing the rules for OAP and the Design Contest. A second inservice will be created for those who want additional training.

LISD Theatre Family

We would like to welcome new staff members to our family:

Flower Mound High School- Michael Valentine

Lewisville High School- Casey Edwards

Marcus High School- Alex Rodriguez

Arbor Creek Middle School- Bailey Atkinson

Huffines Middle School- Jessica Downs

Please let us know how we can support your needs.

September Productions

September 19 Be Our Guest Dinner Theatre TCHS 6:30 PM

If your event is not listed, please check the LISD Theatre Performance Google Sheet. Update your information and we will update ours.

Don't Forget.....


UIL High School Design Contest Entries due: February 5, 1016

Submit plays not on the approved list for MIddle School OAP Contest: December 1