Kristi's Intro Post

Lives in Fishers, Indiana- just north of Indianapolis

Seeking BA Cognitive Studies and Masters in Education

For the past 18 years, I have been able to be at home to raise my children, ages 20,18 & 11.

I ran an inhome day care for about 7 years, when my son was little and that all started because he needed some playmates. It ended up as a full time job, which I enjoyed very much until he went to school full time.

About a year and a half ago, I did a training program to be a Neurofeedback trainer and I opened my own practice and am working full time as the owner/technician providing Cognitive rehab with Neurofeedback and Interactive Metronome training.

I decided to get the credentials to back up my job, although technically because I work with a PhD in the business, I don't need one as a tech, however it is important to me and something that I love doing. Who knows, I may just go for my PhD at some point!

Hobbies and Interests include:

In my spare time, which is rare since I have a business and have started back to school, I enjoy scrapbooking, sewing, crocheting and really any sort of crafty adventure. I also enjoy baking and shopping. I enjoy learning about herbs, essential oils that I use in my home and in my business. I also enjoy reading and research as well. I spend a lot of time researching nutrition and anything related to the brain including learning, language.

My family

My husband

This is my husband and we have been married for 14 years. We enjoy concerts and entertaining friends. We have attended a lot of sporting events, school plays, music concerts. I also have three step sons, ages 25, 22, 18. We have a very full house around the holidays. We are very fortunate to have such a large family.

My experience with children

As you can tell, I have had pretty full plate with kids over the past 18 years. I have seen many forms of child development. Both of my daughters have ADHD, my son had a feeding disorder diagnosed at age 10 and I have a daughter that has Auditory Processing concerns that were never diagnosed or treated until recently.

In my business, I work with children of all ages. I have a large population of children ages 8-12, who have a form of Autism, ADHD or other learning issue. I also see children with anxiety, depression, head injury and Sensory Processing concerns to name a few. I perform Cognitive testing, have learned how to read and interpret results and have also learned hands on training in helping remediate brain processing concerns related to these issues through a non pharmaceutical approach via the Neurofeedback and Interactive Metronome.

Classes

I am certified in Neurofeedback training. I am also a certified Cognitive Connections mentor, which is a method of Cognitive training I use in my job.

I enrolled at Ashford University this past January to complete my BA and earn a Masters degree as well.