Cardinal Nation

School City of East Chicago (SCEC August/September Issue

TRADUCCIÓN DEL BOLETÍN DE NOTICIAS

TRADUCCIÓN

Padres/Guardianes: este boletín también está disponible en español. Por favor, vaya a su izquierda y haga clic en "Traducción" y elija el idioma. Eso es todo. Por favor, disfruten.

Big picture

.

Important Dates in September 2022

1 EC Central HS Open House - 4:30-6:30

1Volunteer Orientation at McKinley Elementary

5 Labor Day - No School

7 McKinley Elementary School Open House - 3:30-4:30

8 Lincoln Elementary School Open House - 3:00-4:00

9 Progress Reports

11 911 Remembrance

11 Grandparents Day – first Sunday after Labor Day

13Volunteer Orientation at McKinley Elementary - 8:30 am & 2:00 pm

15Volunteer Orientation at Block Middle School 8:30 am & 2:00 pm

17 Constitution Day

20 Volunteer Orientation at Lincoln Elementary - 8:30 am & 2:00 pm

21 Elearning Day -

21 International Peace Day (UN)

21 First Day of Fall

22Volunteer Orientation at EC Central HS 8:30 am & 4:00 pm

Important Dates in August 2022

1 EC Central 9th grade Orientation

2 EC Central 10th grade Orientation

3 EC Central 11th grade Orientation

4 EC Central 12th grade Orientation

6 SCEC Back to School Rally @ EC Central HS 12 to 4 pm

10 First Day of School

17 Harrison Elementary School Open House and Title 1 Annual Meeting 3:30-4:30

23 Volunteer Orientation at Washington Elementary at 8:30 am and 2:00 pm

24 Carrie Gosch Early Learning Center Open House and Title 1 Annual Meeting 3:00-5:00 pm

24 Washington Elementary School Open House and Title 1 Annual Meeting 4:00-6:00 pm

25 Volunteer Orientation at Carrie Gosch Early Learning Center at 9:00 am and 2:00 pm

29 NWEA Testing

30 Volunteer Orientation at Harrison Elementary School at 8:30 am and 2:00 pm

30 Block Middle School Open House and Title 1 Annual Meeting 4:00-6:00 pm

Welcome Back Home!

Dr. Javier Abrego is the new Superintendent for School City of East Chicago. He was born in Texas, and was raised in East Chicago when his family moved here in the 1950's. He attended Franklin Elementary as a student, and later returned to become the Principal of Franklin Elementary in 1994. Dr. Abrego also served the School City of East Chicago in the capacity of Vice Principal of Central High School in 1990 and the Director of Elementary Education in 2004. In 2005, Dr. Abrego moved to Arizona and became a Superintendent in three districts ranging from 1,500 to 8,000 students.


Dr. Abrego is an avid runner and fisherman and enjoys all outdoor sports. His summer home is on Kentucky Lake where he hopes to retire one day. His goal in East Chicago is to improve student achievement and encourage students to participate in sports and extra-curricular activities. He said it is good to return to "The Harbor" and be surrounded by family and friends.

As of August 15, 2022 - Lake County is in "High Alert" for Covid

Lake County Indiana has been placed on high alert for increased community risk for Covid. Due to this alert, it is recommended to wear a mask when indoors. Mask should be worn by staff and students in our buildings, especially in the classroom setting. Parents, please check your child for signs of illness every morning before sending them to school. Check for fever 100.1 degrees or higher, chills, cough, shortness of breath, abdominal pain, headache, body aches, and sore throat. Please keep your child home when sick and have them tested if you suspect that they have Covid. Please speak with your child's school nurse if you have further questions. Thank you.

Big picture

Immunizations Deadline - September 8, 2022

Attention Parents and Guardians the deadline for vaccinations is September 8th. I repeat the deadline vaccinations is September 8th. The East Chicago Health Department will be available to provide vaccinations for students, Monday - Friday 9-11:30am / 1-3:30pm and on every 2nd & 4th Saturday 9-11am.

Big picture

Attendance Call Off Line

There is a new Attendance Call Off Line to report your student absent from school. You will be prompted to press a number corresponding to the school your are calling off.

Dial 219-391-4500 Select your school

Press 1 Central High School

Press 2 Block Middle

Press 3 Carrie Gosch Early Learning Center

Press 4 Harrison

Press 5 Lincoln

Press 6 McKinley

Press 7 Washington

On Time and Less Than Five

This year we are introducing a new and exciting mission to encourage our scholars to come to school each day, on time, and ready to learn. The attendance policy for SCEC is located in the School Handbook.


On Time and or them to have less than five (5) days of absences. (IDOE/Indiana requires student attendance to be 95% or better. On Time and Less Than Five is our new attendance theme and goal for student attendance this school year. Students must be in their assigned classroom seats by their designated school start time (elementary 8:00 am, middle school 8:30 am and high school 7:30 am and prek 9:00 am) sharp or they will be marked tardy. Please be sure that your child arrives on time and prepared for school. We look forward to a fantastic school year. We appreciate you for being a part and working together.

Arrival and Dismissal

Doors open 10 minutes before start time. Please make sure your child(ren) get to school on time and prepared.

Prek 9:00 am - 2:00 pm

Elementary 8:00 am - 3:00 pm

Middle School 8:30 am - 3:30 pm

High School 7:30 am - 2:30 pm

NO LATE START WEDNESDAY THIS SCHOOL YEAR

Registration

All students must be registered before the school year starts. Register Online using your Skyward Username and Password. Visit the district website at www.scec.k12.in.us/enrollment
Big picture
Big picture

History made at EC Central HS

Congratulates Isidro Guadarrama Rea currently a Senior this year. As a 11th grade student last year during the 2021-2022 school passed all four AP exams with the highest score possible which is a 5. The exams are as follows:

AP Biology - 5

AP Chemistry - 5

AP English Composition - 5

AP US History - 5


This is the first in history of the high school that we know of. Isidro!!! #WeREC


Congratulations

SCEC Back To School Rally 2022 - THANK YOU

We had 1000 people attend the Back to School Rally on August 6, 2022. It was a VERY hot day but it was a huge success!!! THANK YOU to everyone who made it possible! To our staff, administrators, volunteers, vendors and especially our sponsors!! After a 2 year hold due to the pandemic we came back strong. Again, "THANK YOU" to everyone who made it possible. We will see you next year first Saturday of the month in August.
SCECBack to school rally 2022

SCEC Administration

Dr. Javier Abrego - Superintendent of Schools (jabrego@ecps.org)

Lela Simmons - Chief Financial Officer (lesimmons@ecps.org)

Tamara Pol - Director of Special Education (tpol@ecps.org)

Christiana Gutierrez - Director of Elementary Curriculum & Assessment (cgutierrez@ecps.org)

Cynthia Castro - Federal Projects (ccastro@ecps.org)

Jorge Ontiveros - Instructional Technology (jontiveros@ecps.org)

Lenny Franciski - Facilities (lfranciski@ecps.org)

Susan Olavarria - Transportation (solavarria@ecps.org)

Rick Chavarria - Security (rchavarria@ecps.org)

Kimberly Morris - Human Resource Coordinator (kmorris@ecps.org)

School Principals and their Team

Carrie Gosch Early Learning Center - 219-391-4172

Jessica Peters - Principal - (jpeters@ecps.org)

Jacklyn Snyder - Teacher Liaison


Harrison Elementary School - 219-391-4192

Linda Padilla - Principal - (lpadilla@ecps.org)

Aaron Carter - Asst. Principal - (acarter@ecps.org)

Gena Soto - Dean - (gsoto@ecps.org)

Ava Bell - Teacher Liaison - (abell@ecps.org)


Lincoln Elementary School - 219-391-4096

Principal - Dr. Eliza Gonzalez (egonzalez@ecps.org)

Derrell Tinner - Dean -(dtinner@ecps.org)


McKinley Elementary School - 219-391-4186

Dr. Rasheeda Green - Principal - (rgreen@ecps.org)

Charles Sanders - Dean - (csanders@ecps.org)

Ruzica "Rosie" Hamilton" - Teacher Liaison - (rhamilton@ecps.org)


Washington Elementary School - 219-391-4077

Andrea Hogan - Principal - (ahogan@ecps.org)

Daria Rancifer - Asst. Principal - (drancifer@ecps.org)

Lawrence Sandler - Dean - (lsanders@ecps.org)

Martha Purcell - Teacher Liaison - (mpurcell@ecps.org)


Block Middle School - 219-391-4084

Elsie Quiroga - Principal - (elquiroga@ecps.org)

Kelly Hildenbrand - Asst. Principal - (khildenbrand@ecps.org)

Darrell Scott - Dean - (dscott@ecps.org)

Nicole Moore - Dean - (nmoore@ecps.org)

Veronica Ayala - Teacher Liaison - (vayala@ecps.org)


EC Central High School - 219-391-4000

Abrian Brown - Principal - (abrown@ecps.org)

Lisa Melendez - Asst. Principal - (lmelendez@ecps.org)

Corey Bailey - Dean - (cbailey@ecps.org)

Dante Dinkins -Dean-(ddinkins@ecps,org)

Danielle Campbell - Dean -(dcampbell@ecps.org)

Maren Lee - CTE Director - (mlee@ecps.org)

David Tokarz - Instructional Coach (dtokarz@ecps.org)

Christina Menchaca-Torres - Teacher Liaison (grades 9th/11th) (cmenchacatorres@ecps.org)

Katrina Alexander - Teacher Liaison - (grades 10th/12th) (kalexander@ecps.org)

Bilingual Family Outreach Coordinators

We have Bilingual Family Outreach Coordinators to help families with the language barrier.

Erica Baisley - EC Central High School

Elizabeth Camacho -Harrison Elementary School

Arnoldo Carrillo - Block Middle and Washington Elementary School

Jessica Nunez - McKinley Elementary School

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Volunteer Orientation - September

Volunteer orientations will be taking place each month. They will be held at each school and you may attend any school. We strongly recommend that you complete a volunteer application if you would like to go on a field trip. Please do not wait to the last minute. There are steps that have to be taken before going on a field trip.

Big picture
Big picture

School City of East Chicago

School City of East Chicago is a K-12 public school district in Northwest Indiana serving nearly 3,350 students. Our mission is to invest in our children's future, giving them the tools to pursue excellence while developing Honesty, Compassion, and Determination.

School City of East Chicago has made a commitment to excellence. Parents and community members are invited to reinforce this commitment through their involvement in school activities and by working together with faculty and staff to provide the best educational opportunities for all East Chicago students.