Federal Court Information

By: Lily Carter

Levels of the Federal Court system and their Responsibilities

There are three main levels the to Federal court system:

  • District Courts are the trial courts
  • Circuit Courts hold the first level of appeal
  • Supreme Courts which is the highest level of appeal

The Types of Jurisdiction

There are also three types of Jurisdiction:

  • Personal jurisdiction has control over an individual
  • Territorial jurisdiction is over a limited region
  • Subject Matter jurisdiction is over the problem at the time
Big image