The Three Branches of Government

Executive, Legislative, and Judicial

There are three branches of our government. Each one has different powers and responsibilities.


The leader of the Executive Branch is the president. He or she has all the power of the branch, including being Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces and the ability to veto a law. The other people in the Executive Branch are the Vice President, the Executive Office of the President, and Cabinet. The Vice President advises the President and replaces them if anything happens to them. If anything happens to both the President and the Vice President the Speaker of the House of Representatives replaces them. The Cabinet is a group of people who advises the President on certain matters.


Congress has the power to declare war, write and vote on laws, determine the amount that people are taxed and the government budget. Congress is split up into two parts, the House of Representatives and the Senate. The House of Representatives has 435 members. Each state's amount of representatives is determined by the state's population, so that the more people who live in that state, the more representatives the state has. The leader is the Speaker of the House of Representatives. The Senate has 100 members, two from each state.


This branch is made up of judges and courts. There are three levels of courts. The district courts handles most trials. Higher in the hierarchy is the appeals court. On top is the Supreme Court. Currently nine Justices are in the Supreme Court. Rather than being elected they are chosen by the President, then approved by the Senate. They stay with their job for life.

Those are the powers and responsibilities of the three different branches of our government.