Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing

Facts about the Triple Crown!

Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing!!!

The Triple Crown or the Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing is a series of three horse races which have been running for over a hundred years. All three of the horse races take place in the months of May and June every year. The Kentucky Derby is the first Triple Crown Race, the Preakness Stakes is the second Triple Crown Race and the Belmont Stakes is the third and final Triple Crown Race.

Only thoroughbred horses will be allowed to compete in the three Triple Crown races and every horse must be three years of age. These three horse races are the most famous horse races in the world and attract millions of spectators every single year. The goal of every thoroughbred horse owner is to have their horse compete in the Triple Crown races at the age of three.

Often you’ll find that a different horse will win each event because of the competition being so close together these days. The last time a horse has been able to win all three of the Triple Crown races in one year was in 1978 when the horse Affirmed completed the accomplishment. Take a look below to see a little bit of information about each of the three race tracks that are apart of the Triple Crown.

• Kentucky Derby – 1-1/4 Mile Long Track – Dirt Track – Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky.

• Preakness Stakes – 1-3/16 Mile Long Track – Dirt Track – Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland.

• Belmont Stakes – 1-1/2 Mile Long Track – Dirt Track – Belmont Park in Elmont, New York.
Secretariat Belmont Stakes 1973 & extended coverage (HD Version - NEW!)
SECRETARIAT - Full Documentary