United Kingdom

Joined the EU on 1973

the capital and 4 major cities

Capital: London

4 Major Cities: England, Birmingham, Glasgow and Liverpool

History or the United Kingdom

The UK

The earliest signs of human presence in Britain date back to 5000 BC; the oldest remaining structure date back to 3000 BC. After reaching Britain in 55 BC, the Romans incorporated the area into their empire and stayed until 410, when two Germanic tribes—the Angles and the Saxons—drove them out.

Vikings raided the islands in the late eighth century and dominated Britain for two centuries. Other groups also invaded. The last invasion was in 1066, when William of Normandy won the Battle of Hastings. The Norman Conquest ushered in a new period of great political and social change.

Through acts of union, Wales (1535), Scotland (1707), and Ireland (1801) joined England in a political union that became known as the United Kingdom. England established itself as a great naval power by defeating the mighty Spanish Armada in 1588. In 1689, Parliament passed the Bill of Rights, which established a constitutional monarchy with parliamentary limits on the king and queen.

The Union Flag

The Union Jack has a blue field and a Red Cross of Saint George.

Blue: vigilance, truth, loyalty and justice

White: peace and honesty

Red: hardiness, bravery, strength and velour.

What attracts people?

-Tower of London

-London eye

-Buckingham Palace



-Mountain ranges




Government type

Constitutions monarchy and common wealth room.

Currency Type

Pound Sterling

3 interesting facts

1) England is 74 times smaller than the the USA

2) There is over 300 languages spoken in England

3) eating mince pies on Christmas Day is illegal