Week of December 2nd - 6th

Announcements, Events and Extracurriculars

PARENT INVOLVEMENT ENRICHES US ALL!

Thank you to everyone who attended our 1st ever Aqsa School Advisory Committee (ASAC) meeting on 11/26. Your feedback is so valuable to the growth and success of our students and school.

One of the first initiatives the committee ha committed to, is to address the school lunch menu to better suit the interests of the student body and to place more healthy options on the menu. A SURVEY will be sent home for elementary students, please look out for it in your email. We also will give a survey to junior high and high school students so they can provide their feedback.


The next Advisory Meeting is DECEMBER 15th at 10 am to noon . PLEASE, PARENTS AND ALUMNI, make every effort to attend!


If you should have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to me at any time at tismail@aqsa.edu.


Sincerely,

Ms. Tammie Ismail

Principal

Aqsa School

Big picture

Spirit Week & Read-A-Thon Kick Off

This week Aqsa students are encouraged to participate in Spirit Week. Each day there will be different themes to help hype up the student's spirit. Students are encouraged to dress up each day in Islamically appropriate clothing. We will highlight the different days and themes below. Let's see which class demonstrates the most School Spirit. Come on Aqsa students you can do this!


This month also kicks off Read-a-thon. This year's theme will be "Wild About Reading". Bring your independent reading book to school with you every day for Stop Drop And Read moments. Students should try to meet their reading minutes goal each week by turning in their "Wild About Reading" minute counter bookmark due on Friday, December 6th to their teachers. On the last day of Read-A-Thon we will be dressing up as characters from the books we read throughout the month. Happy Reading!
Big picture
Big picture

Week of Dec 2nd to the 6th

KEY :

ELEMENTARY ( E)

JUNIOR HIGH (JH)

HIGH SCHOOL (HS)

Junior high and High School (JH/HS)

ALL ( A)


MPR: Multipurpose Room (Aqsa School basement level)

MUNUC: Model United Nations club

OLP: Oak Lawn Pavilion

YBTC: You Be the Chemist



Monday, Dec 2nd :

SPIRIT WEEK

  • Elementary Emoji/Emotion Day: Dress up as your favorite emoji. (E)
  • JH/HS SPORTS DAY: must wear your uniform skirt, but shirts and accessories can be sports related. (JH/HS)


  • YBTC during lunch with Ms Krakra in Room 12.(HS)


READ-A-THON KICK OFF


  • Elementary Debka Club grades 2 to 5, 3:30-4:20 pm with Ms. Ahmad in MPR (E)
  • Speech Team Coaching 3:30- 4:30 pm with Ms. Keilhack in Room 17 (HS)
  • Varsity Basketball Home Game 6:30 pm Aqsa vs Lycee at the Oak Lawn Pavillion (HS)


Tuesday, Dec 3rd:

SPIRIT WEEK

  • PJ DAY: ALL STUDENTS, ALL GRADES- Stay Cozy in your pajamas all day! (E, Jh/Hs)


  • Athletic Department Iced Coffee Bar Sales during lunch in MPR ( 5th period) (JH/HS)


  • Elementary Health and Fitness Club grades 3 to 5, 3:30-4:20 pm with Ms. Ryah Hasan in Room 1(E)
  • Taleyat Club 3:45-4:45 pm, with Ms. Laila Elamin in Room 13 (JH/HS)
  • Speech Team Coaching 3:30- 4:30 pm with Ms. Keilhack in Room 17 (HS)
  • Basketball practice 4:30-6:30 at OLP (HS)



Wednesday, Dec 4th:

SPIRIT WEEK

  • Elementary: Dress up as your favorite Dr. Suess character. (E) A fun pep rally will take place 3rd period
  • JH/HS: Dress up as meme or Tic Toc. (JH/HS)


  • Speech team meetings during lunch with Ms Keilhack in Room 17 (HS)


  • Elementary Arabic Help Club grades 1-3, 3:30-4:20 pm with Ms. Huda in Room 5 (E)
  • Speech Team Coaching 3:30- 4:30 pm with Ms. Keilhack in Room 17 (HS)
  • Varsity Basketball Away game, 6:30 pm, Aqsa vs CPSA at CPSA (HS)


Thursday, Dec 5th:

SPIRIT WEEK

  • ELEMENTARY: Dress up as your favorite animal. (E)
  • JH/HS: Dress up as a character from your favorite childhood show day.Pep Rally day- 1 hour assembly schedule will be followed. (JH/HS)


  • Elementary Tajweed Club grades 3 to 5, 3:30-4:20 pm with Ms Mona in Room 3 (E)
  • Drama Club Rehearsal 3:40- 5:00 pm with Ms Hartin in the MPR stage (JH /HS)
  • Speech Team Coaching 3:30- 4:30 pm with Ms. Keilhack in Room 17 (HS)


Friday, Dec 6th:

SPIRIT WEEK

  • ELEMENTARY: Dress up as your future career. (E)
  • JH/HS: Wear your skirt and hijab and a shirt to represent the college you aspire to! (JH/HS)

TURN IN YOUR READ A THON READING MINUTES


  • Varsity Basketball Away Game, 6:00 pm Aqsa vs Sandburg at Sandburg (HS)

Look Out For More in the weeks to come...


  • Family Reading Night: FRIDAY, Dec 13th: Come for a night of reading, snacks and crafts! More info to come!
  • High School Finals: Dec 17-20
  • Dec 20th- End of Quarter 2
  • WINTER BREAK Dec 23rd to Jan 5th

AQSA LEGENDS : SPORTS UPDATES

Communication is Key

Please feel free to reach out with any questions at anytime.

AQSA SCHOOL STAFF OFFICE HOURS

ELEMENTARY DEPARTMENT GRADES 3-5

Ms. Ahmad 3rd grade

sahmad@aqsa.edu

Wednesday 3:30-4:15 pm

Room 3


Ms. Hasan 4th grade

rhasan@aqsa.edu

Wednesday 3:30 -4:15 pm

Room 1


Ms. Pallanti 5th grade

dpallanti@aqsa.edu

Monday 3:30-4:15 pm

Room 4


Ms. Moussa Elem. Arabic & Religion

mmousa@aqsa.edu


MATH AND SCIENCE DEPARTMENT

Ms. Chaudhry

mchaudhry@aqsa.edu

M-F lunch 11:49 to 12:19

or 3:30 to 4:30

Room 2


Ms. Krakra

jkrakra@aqsa.edu

Thursday 3:30 to 4:30

Room 12


Ms. Khalaf

maysoonkhalaf@aqsa.edu

M-F Lunch 11:49-12:19

room 12


Ms. Asma Mustafa

amustafa@aqsa.edu

M-F Lunch 11:49-12:19

Room 2


Ms. Said

ssaid@aqsa.edu

by appointment

MPR or Room 2


Ms. Yosef

ayosef@aqsa.edu

M W F 3:30 - 4:20 pm

Room 10


ENGLISH DEPARTMENT

Ms. Baylin

hbaylin@aqsa.edu

M T Thur lunch 11:49 am -12:19 pm

Room 9


Ms. Hartin

shartin@aqsa.edu

Tuesdays lunch and 3:30 to 4:30

Room 14


Ms. Ibrahim

amalibrahim@aqsa.edu

Lunch M-F Lunch

Room 9


Ms. Keilhack

jkeilhack@aqsa.edu

Tuesdays lunch and 3:30 to 4:30 pm

Room 17


HISTORY DEPARTMENT

Ms. Ismail

tismail@aqsa.edu

By appointment

Room 2


Ms. Mersch

emersch@aqsa.edu

By appointment

Room 2


Ms. Danielson

kdanielson@aqsa.edu

W 3:45 - 4:30

Room 2


ELECTIVE DEPARTMENT

Ms. Marcelle

amarcelle@aqsa.edu

Monday 3:30 to 4:30

Room 16


Ms. Said

ssaid@aqsa.edu

By appointment

MPR or Room 2


ARABIC AND RELIGION DEPARTMENT

Sit Zahia

zdamen@aqsa.edu

Friday 3:30 to 4:20 pm

Room 15


Sit Laila

lelamin@aqsa.edu

Friday 3:30 to 4:30

Room 13


Sit Hala

hqato@aqsa.edu

Thur 3:30 to 4:30


Ms. Matariyeh

rmatariyeh@aqsa.edu

Friday 3:30 to 4:30

Room 13