Theology 2

First Semester

The Mystery of Redemption

Chapter 1

  • In the beginning, God, the Lord of heaven and Earth created all things.
  • God created the world for mankind, and mankind was happy and perfect.
  • Humans disobeyed God, which we call Original Sin.
  • Because humans committed Original Sin, we now are not perfect and suffer.

Chapter 3

Jesus is the Word of God. He is God's only begotten son and became human.

The Word Becomes Flesh for Four Reasons: To manifest God's love, To offer a model of holiness, to allow a share in divine life, and for expiation/reconciliation/restoration.

To Manifest God's Love ~ the Word is Jesus and He became man to show his love for humans.

To Offer a Model of Holiness ~ he gave an example of how a human can overcome the Devil, sin, and death.

To Allow a Share in Divine Life ~ God wanted to experience his own divinity, and through him, we can experience divine life as well.

For Expiation, Reconciliation, and Restoration ~ He wanted to fix the first sin as well as make the relationship between humans and God to its restored state.

Big image

The Mystery of Redemption

Chapter 4

  • The Pascal Mystery is the Passion, Death, and Resurrection of Christ. The Pascal Mystery is the mission of God saving humans from Original Sin. Christ teaching on earth is helping us to fight against Original Sin. When Christ was crucified and rose again it shows that he is the only human to have conquered Original Sin.

Chapter 6

Theological Virtues are three virtues whose objection is union with God.

They are faith, hope, and charity. One should live their life like this.

  • Faith - assist in accepting the truths God has revealed through the Church. A person's belief in God and adherence of his or her heart to God.
  • Hope - confident expectation God will give the strength needed to rely in Him. Hope is relying on God's grace and trust in His promises of eternal life.
  • Charity - Allows someone to love God above all things.

One should not live their life like this

Sins Against Faith

  • Voluntary Doubt - calls into question or ignores some aspect of God.
  • Schism - a refusal to submit to the authority of the Church's clergy.
  • Heresy - a baptized member who denies the faith.
  • Apostasy - total denial of the Christian faith.
  • Atheism - total denial of the existence of God.

Sins Against Hope

  • Despair - loss of trust in God because doubting His interest in the individual person.
  • Presumption - expecting eternal life without human effort or effort from the Holy Ghost.

Sins Against Charity

  • Indifference - refusal to reflect on the prior goodness of God.
  • Ingratitude - not acknowledging God and His love.
  • Lukewarmness - failure to respond to God and his love
  • Acedia - (sloth) refusal to enjoy God
  • Hatred of God - opposes God's love

The Mystery of Redemption

Chapter 7

Prayer: How we communicate with God

Through prayer, spiritual nourishment is present in one's life. The perfect prayer is recognized as the Our Father. Any prayer is an inner conversation with God. Man was created by God, therefore has a connection with God. God answers every prayer, even if it is not how or when we want.

Big image

The Church

Chapter 5

The Four Marks of the Church

  • One - Acknowledging the Church is one just as God is one. Unity of Faith, Unity of Worship, Unity of Leadership are all examples of how the Church is one.
  • Holy - The Church receives her holiness from the Holy Ghost.
  • Catholic - comes from the Greek word katholikos, meaning universal.
  • Apostolic - choosing of the twelve apostles.

Chapter 7

The Last Things

Death - the soul leaves the body

Judgment - (Particular Judgement) after death one's soul gets judged by God and is sent to Heaven, Hell or Purgatory.

Heaven - perfect unity with God after death

Hell - complete separation from God after death

Purgatory - the final purification of the souls who were not quite ready to enter heaven. Not completely with or without God.

Parousia - Latin word for Purgatory

Big image
Big image