16.3 Sun Activity

By: Claire Witmer

Big image

The Suns Layers

The three inner layers of the Sun are the core, radiactive zone and the convection zone. The outer layers of the Sun are the Photosphere, Chrmosphere, the Transition Region and the Corona.

The Core

The core is the hottest part of the Sun and it is in the very center of the Sun. The temperature of the core is around 15 million degrees Celsius. The core is the source of all the suns energy.


This layer sits right above the Photosphere. It is actually increasing the temperature of the sun. It is around 2,000 kilometers thick. This layer also has a red rim that can only be seen during a solar eclipse.


This is also mostly seen during a solar eclipse. But this layer surrounds the sun that is plasma. This layer has a temperature of around a million degrees. A coronagraph also helps people see the corona on some occasions.


Sunspots happen on the photosphere and they form when it has a lower temperature on any other parts of the photosphere. Sunspots are a dark mark shown in the picture to the right.


Prominence are a large gas features that extend from the Suns surface. Prominence form in a loop shape that can release many solar materials into space. There is also a very strong magnetic field.


A flare is where there is a gaseous eruption on the sun due to a magnetic storm. They release gas that are very very hot. They are sent away from the sun for about a thousand miles.


An aurora is a sight in the sky where bright light is shown due to the magnetic field. This special light are normally found in Antarctica and the Arctic regions.