Board Briefs (Special Edition)

Highlights from the July 16, 2019 Special BOE meeting

Board Briefs is a newsletter-style overview of the highlights of the Board of Education's discussion and action. You can find the meeting agenda online here, and look for minutes of the meeting to be posted after they are approved at the next BOE meeting (August 19, 2019).


Schematic Design

As District 34 considers future facility decisions, and the possibility of referendum, the administration proposed that FGM Architects prepare schematic design (SD) of the possible work at buildings. SD drills into the scope of work and moves cost estimates from ranges to refined cost estimates. It also provides more realistic visual interpretations to help the community and the Board in decision making. The cost of SD is $1.4 million. The administration proposed that the Board consider a resolution to allow the District to use fund balance from the Operations and Maintenance Fund for pre-referendum expenses. If a referendum passes, proceeds from the referendum would reimburse this cost.

Citizens Task Force & Engagement Facilitator

The Board discussed authorizing Citizen Task Force to review the current state of facilities, educational impact of facilities, and community input, and then make a recommendation to the Board about a referendum. The task force would be made up of all stakeholder groups, and would meet three times.

The administration suggested contracting with Marcia Sutter, a communication/engagement consultant, to help facilitate the task force meetings to ensure all members have the opportunity to gain all the information that they need to make a recommendation. The consultant also would help organize community engagement meetings and other community-wide communication to ensure all community members are aware of the District's facility needs and that all voices are heard. The total cost of her work would not exceed $18,000.

Meet the Board of Education

Glenview District 34 is governed by a seven-person Board of Education, elected by the community, that consists of the following individuals:

  • Natalie Jachtorowycz (President)
  • Jim Baumstark (Vice President)
  • John Heggie
  • Katie Jones
  • Mike Korman
  • Scott Nelson
  • Diane Stefani

You can contact the Board at