The Weekly Spur

Week Thirty-three: May 2-6, 2016

  • Better Speech and Hearing Month
  • May 1-7 Teacher Appreciation Week
  • May 2-6 Child Nutrition Week
  • May 4 National School Nurses Day
  • Teacher Appreciation WEek!!

    It is time to say Thank You to the special teachers that you know. Let them know that they are appreciated for all that they do. Teachers play a critical role in educating and shaping our children: the future leaders of our country. They are kind, patient, hard-working, dedicated and understanding professionals that mold our children’s lives in a positive direction. We entrust our children with the teachers and they affect their lives on a daily basis. Teachers are real life superheroes. They educate, innovate, encourage and support. Every day they touch the lives of millions of children and their work and impact extends far beyond the boundaries of the classroom. Take the time to celebrate these real life superheroes during Teacher Appreciation Week, May 2-6, 2016.

    Word of the Week, Quote & Call back:

    W.O.W. – humanitarianism: promotion of human welfare and social reform

    Quote: “Do all the good you can, by all the means you can, in all the ways you can, in all the places you can, at all the times you can, as long as ever you can.” By John Wesley

    Call Back: Once a Spur…..Always a Spur!

    What's on tap this week?

    Don't forget your Thank You's for Thank You Thursday!

    It's Teacher Appreciation Week!! Thank you teachers for all that you do!

    Monday, May 2 - PTA General Meeting 6:00

    Tuesday, May 3 - 5th grade goes to Camp El Tesoro (Tues, Wed, Thur)

    Wednesday, May 4 - Morris Brothers @ 9:00, School Nurse's Day

    Thursday, May 5 -

    Friday, May 6 -

    Big image

    Happy Birthday to You - this week!

    May 2 - Chelsea Copeland and Kristi Pippin

    May 3 - Angela Gillen

    May 7 - Jennifer Stalbaum

    A look ahead...

    Monday, May 9 - STAAR Tests Grade 3-4 Math, Grade 5 Math Re-test

    Tuesday, May 10 - STAAR Tests Grade 3-4 Reading, Grade 5 Reading Re-test

    Wednesday, May 11 - STAAR Test Grade 5 Science

    Thursday, May 12 -

    Friday, May 13 -

    Monday, May 16 - GE Consultant on Campus

    Tuesday, May 17 -

    Wednesday, May 18 - GE Consultant on Campus

    Thursday, May 19 - Kindergarten Round-up 5:00-6:30

    Friday, May 20 - Staff Luncheon, Choir trip to NRH20, Last Inspirations Assembly

    PTA Information:

    *PTA has created a BOX TOP GARDEN. Depending on how many box tops you have turned in depends on how many petals are on your flower. The first petal represents 25 or less box tops and every petal after represents 10 boxtops. **Just a reminder, SPED will be picking up your box top envelope every Friday, not PTA. **

    Serving Gifted Students in General Ed Classrooms

    Here is a link for an interesting article entitled:

    "Four Steps to Strategic Encouragement"