Renaissance Artist

His Life

  • Born: Cerca 1450, in Hertogenbosch, Netherlands

  • His real name was Jeroen van Aeken

  • Where he spent most of his life is unknown, but based his style, scholars think that he did not travel widely.


  • His father, grandfather, and several of his uncles were all painters, and it is assumed that he was trained at home.


  • Married Aleyt Goyaerts van der Meervenne, who was 25 years older than him, and had no known children.


  • He was a painter.
  • He created a few stained glass windows as well. None of the stained glass survives today.
  • His most famous painting is called Garden of Earthly Delights, and another well known one is The Seven Deadly Sins and the Four Last Things. These are both based on religious ideas.


  • Bosch became a member of The Brotherhood of Our Lady, whom he received his first commissions from.
  • Duke Philip the Handsome commissioned him to paint "The Last Judgement" in 1504, which is now lost.
  • By 1500, which was before he had become famous, he didn't need to paint for a living and could paint whatever he chose to.

  • Died: August 9, 1516, in Hertogenbosch, Netherlands



Bosch had very strong opinions about the individual human. He believed that everyone's human nature was to do evil, and that no individual could be good. He thought that nobody could resist worldly temptations.


Bosch was extremely pessimistic, and was skeptical that any human could do good. He believed in very strong morals, but questioned that anyone could ever achieve perfection or holiness.

Garden of Earthly Delights

Garden of Earthly Delights was finished around the year 1504.

It is currently located in Museo del Prado, in Madrid, Spain.

This painting is one of the first by Bosch that uses more abstract ideas, as shown especially in the right panel, which shows his idea of hell. It is considered his best painting, and was done at the peak of his career.

I find this piece very interesting because of the huge amount of detail, and the very strange creatures/objects that Bosch depicts throughout the painting.



The three panels of this painting first show Adam and Even in the Garden of Eden and their temptation. Next there is a world full of sin, and lastly Bosch shows the judgement of the people. Although it is all based on religious beliefs, he is showing that the individual's actions decide what happens to them, so they essentially decide their own fate. Even though he believed that all humans turned out evil, he believed that it was their own choices, and that they could have changed if they wanted to.

Works Cited

"Hieronymus Bosch." Authors and Artists for Young Adults. Vol. 65. Detroit: Gale, 2005. Biography in Context. Web. 18 Nov. 2013.

AR: Bosch, Hieronymus, d. 1516 TI: Self-Portrait DS: Musée du Louvre AA: ARTstor CN: ARTSTOR_103_41822001029634 UR: http://library.artstor.org/library/secure/ViewImages?id=8CJGczI9NzldLS1WEDhzTnkrX3gqf1ZzfCE%3D

"Hieronymus Bosch." Encyclopedia of World Biography. Detroit: Gale, 1998.Biography in Context. Web. 18 Nov. 2013.

"Hieronymus Bosch." International Dictionary of Art and Artists. Gale, 1990.Biography in Context. Web. 18 Nov. 2013.

"Hieronymus Bosch". Encyclopædia Britannica. Encyclopædia Britannica Online.
Encyclopædia Britannica Inc., 2013. Web. 18 Nov. 2013