PGHS Newsletter

3-23-15 A Special Sound of Music Edition of the Newsletter

Students Bring "The Sound of Music" Alive at PGHS

Big image
Big image
Big image
Big image
Big image

A Hero is Honored at PGHS

Veteran teacher, Mr. Todd Kelly, was honored on Saturday evening by having the stage named the H. Todd Kelly Stage. This is most appropriate as he directed 47 plays and musicals on this stage since 1987. Mr. Kelly is a courageous man who gives tirelessly to the students of Pottsgrove. Congratulations to Mr. Kelly and his family for leaving a legacy that will continue forever in Pottsgrove.
Mr. Todd Kelly Stage Dedication Ceremony
Big image
Nominate a Teacher for the Voices of Inspiration Award

Please take time to nominate a PGHS teacher to receive the Voice of Inspiration Award. Mr. Kelly won this recognition last year - Let's make sure a PGHS teacher is recognized again this year.

Important Dates/Events

Montco Monday - Montgomery County Community College will be here in the lobby to answer questions and share information about their programs & wear Maroon/White MCCC's color.
Teacher Question: What college did you attend and why?


Tuesday T-Shirt Day
Question: What major did you select in college and why?


Wednesday Hat Day
Question: What was the greatest obstacle you had to overcome in college and how did you overcome it?


Thursday Hoodie Day
Question: How was your transition from high school to college? What helped you to find success?


Friday Fan Day - Wear your favorite March Madness team's colors/gear
Question: Did any on campus college activities support or enrich your college experience? i.e. sports, clubs, tutoring, travel.

March 31, 2015 End of Third Marking Period

March Madness Bounces into PGHS

PGHS will be celebrating March Madness all next week as we focus on promoting colleges and universities to all students. Plus, our School Counseling Team will be sending out an email each day, for parents, on important things that you need to know about getting your son/daughter into the best schools. Teachers will begin each class by leading a discussion on their own college experience. The questions are listed below so you can follow up and talk with your son/daughter at dinner time.


Montco Monday - Montgomery County Community College will be here in the lobby to answer questions and share information about their programs & wear Maroon/White MCCC's color.
Teacher Question: What college did you attend and why?


Tuesday T-Shirt Day
Question: What major did you select in college and why?


Wednesday Hat Day
Question: What was the greatest obstacle you had to overcome in college and how did you overcome it?


Thursday Hoodie Day
Question: How was your transition from high school to college? What helped you to find success?


Friday Fan Day - Wear your favorite March Madness team's colors/gear
Question: Did any on campus college activities support or enrich your college experience? i.e. sports, clubs, tutoring, travel.

SAT Prep Comes to PGHS

Sign up for the SAT Catalyst Boot Camp Coming to PGHS on April 18/19, 2015.

Mark Your Calendars

Tuesday, 3/31/15 - End of Third Marking Period


Wednesday, 4/1/15 - In-Service Day


Thursday, 4/2/15 - In-Service Day


Friday – Monday, 4/3/15 – 4/6/15 Spring Break


Tuesday, 4/7/15 Start of Fourth Marking Period


Saturday – Sunday, 4/18/15 - 4/19/15 SAT Boot Camp


Monday, 4/20/15 - NOCTI Performance Exam – this test is mandatory for assigned Western Center Students, there is no make-up exam


Saturday, 4/25/15 Western Center Car Show

Prom 6:00-11:00 PM at the Double Tree in KOP

Post Prom 11:00 – 2:00 AM High School


Tuesday, 4/28/15 - College Field Trip to Kutztown & Alvernia University


Monday, 5/4/15 AP Chemistry Exam AM session in Library

AP Environmental Science Exam AM session in District Office


Tuesday, 5/5/15 - AP Calculus BC Exam AM Session at District Office

AP Calculus AB Exam AM Session in Library

Honor Roll Reception – freshmen & sophomores 6th period; juniors & seniors 7th period in the café annex


Spring Orchestra Concert 7:30 in the Auditorium


Wednesday, 5/6/15 - AP English Literature and Composition (12th) Exam in Library


Wednesday, 5/6/15 - Act 80 Day


Thursday - 5/7/15 AP Spanish Language AM Session in Library

Band Concert 7:30 PM in the Auditorium

Art Show


Friday, 5/8/15 - AP German Language AM Session in Library

AP United States History AM Session at District Office

AP Studio Art

AP European History PM Session in Library


Monday, 5/11/15 - AP Biology Exam AM Session in Library

AP Physics C – Mechanics PM Session in Library


Wednesday, 5/13/15

AP English Language and Composition Exam AM Session in Library

AP Statistics Exam PM Session in Library


Thursday, 5/14/15 - Keystone Testing – Literature, 2 hour delay

NHS New Member Induction – 7:00 PM in the Auditorium; reception to follow


Friday, 5/15/15 - Keystone Testing – Literature, 2 hour delay


Monday, 5/18/15 - Special Olympics

Keystone Testing - Algebra I, 2 hour delay


Tuesday, 5/19/15 - Keystone Testing - Algebra I, 2 hour delay

Western Center Recognition Ceremony at Pottsgrove Middle School 7:00 PM


Wednesday 5/20/15 - Keystone Testing – Bio, 2 hour delay, dismissal at 2:17

Choral Spring Concert 7:30 in the Auditorium


Thursday, 5/21/15 - Keystone Testing – Bio, 2 hour delay

Music Department Awards Banquet


Friday, 5/22/15 - Special Olympics – Rain date

Senior Picnic at Limerick Park


Monday, 5/25/15 - Memorial Day No School


Tuesday - Saturday 5/26/15 - 5/30/15 Senior Class Trip to Florida


Thursday, 5/28/15 All Class Awards 9th grade 2nd Period, 10th grade 6th Period, 11th grade 3rd Period.


Wednesday - Friday, 6/3/15 - 6/65/15 - Senior Finals


Wednesday, 6/3/15 - HS/MS Athletic Physicals at Middle School @ 2:30 PM

Booster Senior Banquet Sunnybrook Ballroom 6:00 PM


Monday, 6/8/15 - Freshmen class Trip to Dorney Park


Tuesday, 6/9/15 - Senior Awards Assembly


Wednesday – Thursday 6/10/15 - 6/11/15 - Mandatory Commencement Rehearsals


Wednesday - Friday 6/10/15 - 6/12/15 Underclassmen Finals


Friday, 6/12/15 Students last day

Commencement 6:00 Pm

Tweeting About Caesar - 1-1 Bring Learning to Life