The Plains States

Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota

The Plains States

The Plains States are located in the Middle West and consist of the states Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota.


The Plains are hilly in some areas and flat in others, but mostly flat. Iowa is part of the Prairie Peninsula, an expansion of prairies that slowly form into conifer forests in the north and deciduous forests in the south.

Human Impact

The biggest impact in the Plains is the farming and agriculture, and provides a multitude of jobs for The Midwest Plains States. Since the soil there is fertile enough to allow good and plentiful crops to be grown.


The citizens in this region travel by roads, the ideas travel from how the citizens interact with each other, and the good and trade travel from factories.


Compared to The Plains States, The Great Lake States are very similar in a lot of ways besides the fact that the Great Lake States use the Great Lake for trade.


This region is dependent on The Great Lakes region for trade and the landforms. While they both depend on each other, they are both able to sustain themselves with the occasional help from the other region.