Muslim Nobel Peace Prize Winners

Anwar al-Sadat

Year: 1978

Anwar al-Sadat was born in 1918 in Mit Ab al-Kawm, Egypt. In his life time, Sadat served in the Egyptian military, assisted in overthrowing his country's monarchy, served as vice president and president, and earned his Nobel Peace Prize for negotiating peace agreements with Israel. On October 6, 1981, he was assassinated by Islamic extremists.

Shirin Ebadi

Year: 2003

Shirin Ebadi was the first female judge in Iran, winning the Nobel Peace Prize for her "efforts for democracy and human rights." Born in Hamedan, Iran, in 1975, Ebadi founded the Support of Children's Rights and the Human Rights Defense Center by the time she was 54.

Tawakkol Karman

Year: 2011

Known as "The Mother of the Revolution" in her home country of Yemen, Karman become the first Yemeni and second Muslim woman to be awarded a Nobel Peace Prize at the age of 32. She won for her efforts in women's rights issues and peace-building in Yemen.

Malala Yousafzai

Year: 2014

Now 18 years old, Malala Yousafzai became the youngest Nobel Peace Prize winner ever when she was awarded the prize at 17 years old in 2014 for her work in advocacy for girls' schooling. Not only did she earn this monumental award, but she survived being shot in the head by a Taliban gun man two years earlier.