Rachel Finney

About Me

My life

I grew up in rural Gloucester, Virginia on the Ware River with my older brother, my mother, and my father. While living in Gloucester, I attended a small private school, called Ware Academy, from preschool until 8th grade. My brother also attended the school and was two grades ahead of me. My mother worked as a teacher at the school, and even taught me English in 5th grade. My father is an owner of a concrete business, but was also involved in the school as he volunteered as an assistant basketball coach. During my primary, elementary, and middle school years, I excelled in school and was very much a perfectionist. I also enjoyed spending time with family and friends, swimming, boating, fishing, and playing a variety of different sports.


Following 8th grade, I made the decision to attend an all girls boarding school in Raleigh, North Carolina called Saint Mary's School. Moving three and a half hours away from home at age 14 was a difficult tansition for me, as I am very close with my family. However, it forced me to grow up fast. I became more independent and had greater responsibilities. I was involved in several sports teams including basketball, field hockey, and lacrosse, and became captain of these teams my junior and senior year. I also took my academics very seriously and graduated with high honors. Additionally, I was nominated my senior year as Chief Marshal and served on the Executive SGA. As Chief Marshal, I assisted with chapel, assemblies, events, and ceremonies at the school. I helped maintain order, take role, and was considered to be the official host of the school. During summer breaks, I often babysat and worked as a counselor of serveral kids' camps. During my free time, I enjoyed spending time with the life-long friends I made in my dormatory.


After high school, I attended Wofford College in Spartanburg, South Carolina, and majored in Psychology. During my time at Wofford, I was a member of the Zeta Tau Alpha Sorority. As a member of Zeta, I helped organize several events to promote breast cancer awareness and education and participated in monthly community service. I also pariticpated in many intramural sports, such as basketball and soccer. I continued to excel academically, as I received the Magna Cum Laude graduation honor. During my junior and senior year, I worked as a teaching assistant for a Biological Psychology course. Additionally, during my senior year, I was given the opportunity to complete a one month internship as a teaching aid for kindergarten and third grade. In my free time, I enjoyed traveling to visit family and spending time with friends.


My current hobbies are spending time with family and friends and doing outdoor activities, such as fishing, boating, exercizing, and anything active. I have a large extended family and love nothing more than spending time with my relatives and immediate family, whom I very close with.


I am now a 22 year old College of Charleston graduate student working towards a Master of Arts of Teaching degree for Early Childhood Education. Since kindergarten I have aspired to be a teacher. I have a strong passion for children and hope to make an impact on future generations by motivating, inspiring, and leading the students to make positive strides in social, emotional, and cognitive development.