Sports

------------------------------------------------------------

First Team by Tim Green

Brock is on the run again in New York Times bestselling author Tim Green’s companion book to New Kid. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica or Dan Gutman’s Baseball Card Adventure series.

With his strong left arm, Brock knows he can be a great quarterback, and with the help of his new friend, Mak, he has a plan to make the first team. But the coaches have plans of their own, especially for the kids from the wrong side of the tracks, which is exactly where Brock now lives.

As Brock is trying to fit in, his father’s past is catching up to him—and one chance meeting causes everything to come crashing down. Will Brock finally be able to navigate his new life, or will his past force him back on the run?

http://www.amazon.com/First-Team-Tim-Green/dp/0062208764/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1458314274&sr=1-1&keywords=first+team+tim+green

Box Out by John Coy

John Coy turns to the high-stakes world of high school basketball in this fast-paced YA novel--now in paperback with new cover art!

http://www.amazon.com/Box-Out-John-Coy-ebook/dp/B0035SAHKW/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1458314489&sr=1-1&keywords=box+out+john+coy

Fantasy League by Mike Lupica

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of HEAT, TRAVEL TEAM and MILLION-DOLLAR THROW comes a story of every football kid’s dream come true.

12-year-old Charlie is a fantasy football guru. He may be just a bench warmer for his school's football team, but when it comes to knowing and loving the game, he's first-string. He even becomes a celebrity when his podcast gets noticed by a sports radio host, who plays Charlie's fantasy picks for all of Los Angeles to hear. Soon Charlie befriends the elderly owner of the L.A. Bulldogs -- a fictional NFL team -- and convinces him to take a chance on an aging quarterback. After that, watch out . . . it's press conferences and national fame as Charlie becomes a media curiosity and source of conflict for the Bulldogs general manager, whose job Charlie seems to have taken. It's all a bit much for a kid just trying to stay on top of his grades and maintain his friendship with his verbal sparring partner, Anna.

Like the best Disney film in book form, like Moneyball for kids, Fantasy League is every football kid's dream scenario.

“Lupica is the greatest sports writer for middle school readers.” –VOYA

http://www.amazon.com/Fantasy-League-Mike-Lupica/dp/0147514940/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1458314685&sr=1-1&keywords=fantasy+league+mike+lupica

Game by Walter Dean Myers

Drew Lawson knows basketball is taking him places. It has to, because his grades certainly aren't. But lately his plan has run squarely into a pick. Coach's new offense has made another player a star, and Drew won't let anyone disrespect his game. Just as his team makes the playoffs, Drew must come up with something big to save his fading college prospects. It's all up to Drew to find out just how deep his game really is.

http://www.amazon.com/Game-Walter-Dean-Myers/dp/0060582960/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1458315825&sr=1-1&keywords=game+walter+dean+myers

Heat by Mike Lupica

The #1 Bestseller!

Michael Arroyo has a pitching arm that throws serious heat along with aspirations of leading his team all the way to the Little League World Series. But his firepower is nothing compared to the heat Michael faces in his day-to-day life. Newly orphaned after his father led the family’s escape from Cuba, Michael’s only family is his seventeen-yearold brother Carlos. If Social Services hears of their situation, they will be separated in the foster-care system—or worse, sent back to Cuba. Together, the boys carry on alone, dodging bills and anyone who asks too many questions. But then someone wonders how a twelve-year-old boy could possibly throw with as much power as Michael Arroyo throws. With no way to prove his age, no birth certificate, and no parent to fight for his cause, Michael’s secret world is blown wide open, and he discovers that family can come from the most unexpected sources.

Perfect for any Little Leaguer with dreams of making it big--as well as for fans of Mike Lupica's other New York Times bestsellers Travel Team, The Big Field, The Underdogs, Million-Dollar Throw, and The Game Changers series, this cheer-worthy baseball story shows that when the game knocks you down, champions stand tall.

http://www.amazon.com/Heat-Mike-Lupica/dp/0142407577/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1458315950&sr=1-1&keywords=heat+mike+lupica

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

2015 Newbery Medal Winner
2015 Coretta Scott King Honor Award Winner



"With a bolt of lightning on my kicks . . .The court is SIZZLING. My sweat is DRIZZLING. Stop all that quivering. Cuz tonight I’m delivering," announces dread-locked, 12-year old Josh Bell. He and his twin brother Jordan are awesome on the court. But Josh has more than basketball in his blood, he's got mad beats, too, that tell his family's story in verse, in this fast and furious middle grade novel of family and brotherhood from Kwame Alexander (He Said, She Said 2013).


Josh and Jordan must come to grips with growing up on and off the court to realize breaking the rules comes at a terrible price, as their story's heart-stopping climax proves a game-changer for the entire family.

http://www.amazon.com/Crossover-Kwame-Alexander/dp/0544107713/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1458316164&sr=1-1&keywords=the+crossover+kwame+alexander

The Final Four by Paul Volponi

"Volponi, a multiple award-winning author, keeps the tension high from the first to last page ...The Final Four is definitely a winner." —VOYA, starred review

March Madness is in full swing, and there are only four teams let in the NCAA basketball championship. The heavily favored Michigan Spartans and the underdog Troy Trojans meet in the first game in the seminfinals, and it's there that the fates of Malcolm, Roko, Crispin, and M.J. intertwine. As the last moments tick down on the game clock, you'll learn how each player went from being a kid who loves to shoot hoops to a powerful force in one of the most important games of the year. Which team will leave the Superdome victorious? In the end it will come down to who has the most skill, the most drive, and the most heart.

"Volponi nails it when it counts in this dynamic story." —Booklist, starred review

"Volponi adroitly renders authentic and inspired basketball action." —The New York Times Book Review

http://www.amazon.com/Final-Four-Paul-Volponi/dp/0142423858/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1458316331&sr=1-1&keywords=the+final+four+by+paul+volponi