Stepping Into 6th Grade

January 20th - 24th

Important Dates and Upcoming Tests

January 20th - NO SCHOOL

February 7th - Sports Spectacular

Big picture

ELA

This week we are finishing up our "No More Snow Days!" close reading by furthering our research about electronic school days and having a whole-group discussion. Students will be practicing citing resources and using evidence to back up their


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:


Mrs. Clark: kclark@fulton58.org

Mrs. Clark: lclark@fulton58.org

Ms. Hervey: ahervey@fulton58.org

Math

Last Week:

We looked at the meaning of division problems and how to represent them using pattern blocks and tape diagrams.

This Week:

Students will take their Unit 4 Mid-Test and Unit 5 Pre-Test when we come back on Tuesday. Laster in the week, we will look at division problems as the question, "How many would be in each group?" along with looking at the algorithm for dividing fractions.

Vocabulary:

reciprocal

Learning Objective:

I can divide fractions that include mixed numbers.



If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Ms. Grant: cgrant@fulton58.org

Ms. Lechiara: glechiara@fulton58.org

Science

6-8.ESS2.A.1: Develop and use a model to illustrate that energy from Earth’s interior drives convection which cycles Earth’s crust leading to melting, crystallization, weathering, and deformation of large rock formations, including generation of the ocean floor at ridges, submergence of the ocean floor at trenches, mountain building and active volcanic chains.

This week: We will explore the origins of rocks and learn more about the process that occurs to form them!



If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Ms. Hemken: khemken@fulton58.org

Ms. Doering: mdoering@fulton58.org

Social Studies

Unit Checklist


Learning Targets This Unit

  • Student can describe the advancement of civilization and its legacy


Monday: NO SCHOOL

Tuesday: Greece Notes

Wednesday: Greece Notes

Thursday: Greece Notes

Friday: Athens v Sparta Activity


If you have any questions or concerns Please Contact:

Mr. Hoskins: jhoskins@fulton58.org,

Mrs. Windmann: ewindmann@fulton58.org