Introable Acts

Intolerable Acts, also known as Coercive Acts are the titles referring to the laws that the British Parliament passed in 1774. These laws had something to do with the British colonies in North America. Because of these acts, the Thirteen Colonies were enraged. The Thirteen Colonies would later become the United States. But at that time they were very much a part of the ongoing uprising of what was the American Revolution.

Boston Tea Party was the main recipient of four of the acts in 1773. The British Parliament made Massachusetts an example to turn around the trend of colonial resistance to the parliament that had had begun with the 1765 Stamp Act. The Quebec Act widened the boundaries of what was the province of Quebec and made changes that were in favor to the region’s inhabitants that were French Catholic.

In retaliation, many colonists who thought that the acts were arbitrary violation of their rights organized the First Continental Congress in 1774 to organize a protest. As the tension-filled meetings ensued, the American Revolutionary War was set and broke out the following year. This led to the creation of the United States of America.