Bolivian Flag

Natalie Clavijo 20 pts.

Big image

Color Translations

Red: It represents bravery of Bolivian soldiers and the blood they shed for the birth and preservation of the republic.

Yellow: It represents the country wealth and its resources such as minerals.

Green: It represents the fertility of the land, as well as hope which a foundational value of the Bolivian society.

Big image

Center Symbols:

Bird: Andean Condor which represents willingness to defend the nation and its liberty.

Llama or Alpaca? On the Bolivian flag there is an Alpaca. However, the llama is the national animal of Bolivia. The Alpaca is standing next to wheat and a tree in representation of the nation's resources.

Mountain: Mount Potosi

Muskets (4) and Cannons (2): Representation of the struggle for independence

Branches: Laurel branches representing peace.

Flags (6): Bolivian Flags

Axe & Red Hat: Phrygian hood which is the symbol for freedom and liberty.

10 Stars: The flag was actually unofficially modified by adding a 10th star to symbolize valuable territory with an outlet to the ocean, know as "Litoral", which was lost to Chile in the War of the Pacific (1879-1884). However, the other nine stars represent Bolivian's 9 departments it currently owns.

Official Adoption of the Flag: October 31, 1851

July of 1826- red, yellow, and green with emblem in the center

November of 1851- red, yellow, and green with coat of arms in the center

*The coat of arms had many different versions over the years.

*Bolivia gained its independence from Spain August 6, 1825.

How many flags?

Bolivian has actually had 5 flags up until recently, so they now only have 3.

1. National Flag of Bolivia

2. Civil Flag of Bolvia

3. Wiphala of Qulla Suyu