Longhorn Stampede

2018-19: Leading the Herd (7)

Morning Reminders: Car Rider/Drop Off/Walk Up

Parents,

Please help us keep your children's safety a priority by following these procedures:


  • Avoid entering the "exit only" part of the car rider line. Follow the lane around if you wish to park.
  • If you are going to park, please walk with your child to the front door. Do not park and have your child walk without adult supervision. Car rider line doors are not for walk up in the morning. Students should never leave a car and walk across the parking lot to the front door or side door by themselves, regardless of their age.
  • Students may enter the building at 7:50 unless they have permission to come in at 7:45 (Choir, tutorials, etc.). They wait in the hallway or have breakfast and then are released to go to class at 8:00 am.
  • If you arrive after the car rider line has closed for the morning, please park your car and walk your child in. We do not care if you are in pajamas! We do care that your child is entering safely.


Thank you! We have almost 800 students enter and exit Lone Star very quickly and very safely each day. It takes everybody's patience and awareness. We appreciate you being a positive part of our procedures!

LCHS Forthcoming Mums & Garters

Use the order form to place your order this week.

For Your Calendar (check back for updates)

Tuesday, September 25 - GT Parent Awareness meeting, The Learning Center (flyer below)

Wednesday, September 26 - See You at the Pole, 7:30 am

Friday, September 28 - Conflict Resolution bookmarks due to Mrs. Ritchie

Wednesday, October 3 - 2nd Grade Garden Day

Monday, October 8 - Student Holiday/Parent Conference Day

Tuesday, October 9 - PTA Meeting, 12 pm

Thursday, October 11 - Tribe Day

Friday, October 12 - Lake Creek High School Forthcoming

Wednesday, October 17 - 1st Grade Garden Day

Monday, October 22 - Red Ribbon/Good Choices Week

Tuesday, October 23 - Report Cards go home

Thursday, October 25 - FUN RUN

Wednesday, October 31 - Book Character Dress Up/Parade, 8:30 am

Wednesday, October 31 - Kdg Garden Day

Friday, November 2 - 2nd Grade Field Trip

Wednesday, November 8 - Choir Field Trip to Renaissance Festival

Thursday, November 8 - 4th Grade Program in recognition of Veterans Day, 9:00 am

Friday, November 9 - Group Pictures; Retakes

Tuesday, November 13 - Progress Reports go home

Tuesday, November 13 - PTA Meeting, 12 pm

Wednesday, November 14 - 3rd Grade Field Trip

Wednesday, November 14 - 5th Grade Garden Day

Thursday, November 15 - Tribe Day

Friday, November 16 - Kindergarten/PK PowWow Parade, 8:30 am

Wednesday, December 5 - 4th Grade Garden Day

Wednesday, December 5 - MISD UIL Competition at Stewart Creek Elem., 4:30 pm

Thursday, December 6 - MISD UIL Competition at Stewart Creek Elem., 4:30 pm

Tuesday, December 11 - PTA Meeting, 12 pm

Thursday, December 13 - 3rd Grade Program, 8:45 am

Monday, December 17 - School Wide Pajama Day

Tuesday, December 18 - Holiday Parties:

1st grade, 9:30

ABLE, 11:00

3rd grade, 11:30

2nd grade, 1:30

Wednesday, December 19 - Early Release, 1 pm

Wednesday, December 19 - Holiday Parties:

Kindergarten, 9:00

Life Skills, 11:00

4th Grade, 11:15

Thursday, December 20 - Early Release, 1 pm

Thursday, December 20 - Holiday Parties

PreK, 9:15

5th Grade, 9:30

Friday, December 21 - Winter Break Begins

Gift Card Request

Parents, we are asking that you consider picking up/sending a $10 gift card to our school. These will be used for staff and student prizes. You may drop it at the front desk or send in with your child. Thank you for helping us "raise the praise"!

The Leader in Me

Habit 1 reminds us that we are in charge of our decisions and actions. The phrase "Make good choices" can be heard in just about any elementary school. However, an additional (more important) piece to those reminders from adults is to teach children to self-regulate. When we learn to reflect on decisions & actions and then connect that to outcomes, we realize how much control we have over our path. Some of our students completed a Plus/Delta chart in their classroom earlier this week to reflect on how their year was going. They noted specific areas that were going well (Plus) and also areas that could use a little tweaking (Delta). They do not need the teacher to nag or remind them; they are completely capable of determining - and addressing - any areas of need.


The Plus/Delta chart will be used in every classroom by the end of the school year, so your children will be able to carry this over at home as well.

Lone Star Monthly Lunch Menus