MGM 7th Grade House News

October 26, 2018

Welcome!

Welcome to 7th Grade! Please read below for house news, upcoming assessments, and 7th-grade house highlights! These newsletters will be sent out every week on Friday!

Follow Us!

Please keep up with news and happenings at MGMS by following us on social media. Check us out at:


Facebook @mgmsgators

Twitter @mgmgators

Instagram @mgmgators

School website: mgms.lexington1.net

November 2, 2018 is Expedition Kickoff!

Students received permission slips regarding the details of our November 2nd, What's the Cost? Expedition Kickoff.


The cost of the trip per student is $5. If you would like to sponsor the cost of another student's trip, please enclose an extra $5 and indicate this on the bottom of your permission form. Our hope is that every student will be able to attend this kickoff and field work opportunity.


Permission forms are due by October 30, 2018. Please see the digital copy here if you need an extra copy.


If you have any questions regarding this field study, please contact your child's math teacher.

Spirit Week October 29-November 2

Join us in showing our school spirit with spirit week.

Monday, October 29: Tacky Day

Tuesday, October 30: Twin Day

Wednesday, October 31: Superhero Day

Thursday, November 1: Green and Gold Day

Friday, November 2: Team Day


Students must adhere to the MGM dress code, and may not wear pajamas, slippers, costumes, hats, hoods, or masks.

Washington, D.C. Parent Interest Meeting Tuesday, October 30, 5:45 p.m.

There will be a parent interest meeting for the 7th grade trip to Washington, D.C. The trip will be February 20-22, 2019.


Please join us in the MGM cafeteria on Tuesday, October 30, 2018 at 5:45 for more information.

Jr. Beta Club

The MGM Jr. Beta Club Induction Ceremony will be held next Thursday at 6pm in the MGM Theatre. Students should dress nicely and meet in the drama room at 5:30pm. The ceremony will last no longer than 30 minutes.


IF YOUR STUDENT IS UNABLE TO MAKE IT TO THIS CEREMONY, the next induction will be held on Thursday, January 10th at 6pm in the MGM Theatre.


If you have questions, please reach out to rlcooper@lexington1.net.

Thank you to all who participated in SLCs. They were a great success!

If you need to reschedule, please contact your child's CREW leader. Emails are listed below. If you have specific concerns, please reach out to your child's teacher as well.

Teacher Contact Information

Please contact your child's teacher if you have any questions or concerns.


Administration:

Dr. Bill Coon - bcoon@lexington1.net

Dr. Kyle Meetze - kmeetze@lexington1.net

Jamie Powell -jpowell@lexington1.net

Alisa Long- aklong@lexington1.net


Counselor:

Davis Myers- dmyers@lexington1.net


House Leader

Amanda Hammill ahammill@lexington1.net


Content Area Teachers:

ELA

Andrea Roberts- aroberts@lexington1.net

Melanie Wells- mwells@lexington1.net

Joyce Perkins- jperkins@lexington1.net


Science

Taylor Fralick- tfralick@lexington1.net

Regan Moore- rwmoore@lexington1.net

Mary Harbaugh- mharbaugh@lexington1.net


Math

Bill Rogers- brogers@lexington1.net

Rebecca Fischer- rfischer@lexington1.net

Tammy Hardy- thardy@lexington1.net


Social Studies

Amanda Hammill- ahammill@lexington1.net

Derrick Price- dwprice@lexington1.net

Amanda Kerbis - akerbis@lexington1.net

Ben Jackson- bjackson@lexington1.net


Encore Teachers

Drama - Rachel Cooper - rlcooper@lexington1.net

Orchestra - Jennifer Mann - jmann@lexington1.net

Dance - Megan Viazanko- mviazanko@lexington1.net

Dance - Kara Corley - kccorley@lexington1.net

Band - Melanie Winn- mwinn@lexinton1.net

Art - June Collins - jcollins@lexington1.net

Art - Beth Maddox - bmaddox@lexington1.net

Chorus - Augie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

STEM - Cliff Roberts - cjroberts@lexington1.net

ICIVICS - Melody Shafer - mshafer@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Phillip Thomas - pthomas@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Stephen Harmon - srharmon@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed- Abby Chisholm - achisholm@lexington1.net

PE - Candice Cobb - ccobb@lexington1.net

PE - Ben Anderson- rbanderson2@lexington1.net

Digital Design - Ryan Panter - rpanter@lexington1.net

Supplemental Math - Ann Bennett - abennett@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Susan Myrick - smyrick@lexington1.net

Math RTI - Trisha Hamilton - thamilton@lexington1.net

ELA RTI - Rayna Kleckley - rkleckley@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Jennifer Williams - jbwilliams@lexington1.net


World Language

Latin - Jessica Stolebarger - jstolebarger@lexington1.net

French - Dr. Todd Spaulding - tspaulding@lexington1.net

French - Erin Hamner - ehamner@lexington1.net

French - Cheikh Fall - cfall@lexington1.net

Chinese - Na Zhang - nzhang@lexington1.net

Chinese - Susan Wang - ywang@lexington1.net

Chinese-Natalie Lukity - nlukity@lexington1.net

Spanish - Samantha Simmons - ssimmons@lexington1.net

Spanish - Valentina Salomon msalomon@lexington1.net

MGM Counseling Department

Follow the counseling center on Twitter @mgmcounseling for updates from our counselors!

7TH GRADE UPCOMING ASSESSMENTS

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT ASSESSMENTS BELOW, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR CHILD'S TEACHER.
ELA: ELA Formative on Tuesday, October 30th.


MATH: See Schoology.


SCIENCE: See Schoology.


SOCIAL STUDIES: See Schoology for formative assessments.


WORLD LANGUAGES: Click here for a link to all WL updates.


Encore:

7th grade: iCivics Field Study to Harvest Hope Food Bank on Thursday (forms and money due Monday)


Band Concert! All grades! MGM Theater Tuesday October 30th at 6:30pm. Students participating need to arrive by 6:00pm. Costumes are encouraged!


Save the Date!

Fall Dance Showcase, featuring original student choreography

Thursday November 8th, MGM Auditorium

6:00pm- 6th & 7th grades combined show

7:30pm- 8th grade show

PTO Updates

Sign up using the link below to receive emails from MGMS PTO. We will share information about our meetings, events, volunteer opportunities and more! Register Here Please contact us at mgmsptogators@gmail.com if you have any questions.

PTO FUNDRAISER

Big picture

Boys and Girls Basketball Tryouts!

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day! We are looking forward to another great year!