Chapter 29 Project

Cindia Torres

Consumer Bill of Rights

  1. The Right to Safety: protection against products that are hazardous to life or health.
  2. The Right to Be Informed: protection against fraudulent, deceitful, or grossly misleading practices and assurance of receiving facts necessary to make informed choices.
  3. The Right to Choose: access to a variety of quality products and services offered at competitive prices.
  4. The Right to Be Heard: assurance of representation of consumer interests in formulating in government policy and of fair and prompt treatment in enforcement of laws.
  5. The Right to Redress: assurance that buyers have ways to register their dissatisfaction and receive compensation for valid complaints.
  6. The Right to Consumer Education: assurance that consumers have the necessary assistance to plan and use their resources to maximum potential.

Patient's Bill of Rights

  1. Information Disclosure: Patients have the right to receive accurate, easily understood information to make informed health care decisions.
  2. Choice of Providers: Patients have the right to choose their own doctors and other health care providers.
  3. Access to Emergency Services: Patients have the right to access health care services how and where the need arises.
  4. Treatment Decisions: Patients have the right to fully participate in all decisions related to their health care.
  5. Respect and Nondiscrimination: Consumers have the right to considerate, respectful care from all members of the health care system at all times.
  6. Confidentiality: Consumers have the right to have the confidentiality of their individually identifiable health care information protected. Consumers have the right to review and copy their own records and to amend those records.
Big image

Consumer Protection Laws

"Flammable Fabrics Act"

- The Flammable Fabrics Act is the capacity for catching on fire.

- The flammability standard for children's sleepwear requires that the garment will not catch fire when exposed to match or small fire.

"Hazardous Substances Labeling Act"

- requires that warning labels appear on all household products that are potentially dangerous to the consumer.

"Cigarette Labeling and Advertising Act"

- requires warning labels of health hazards from smoking.

Big image

Federal Agencies

"NIST" is an agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce. It also determine the amount of error that is acceptable for gas pump or grocer's scale an establishes testing procedures for enforcing the standards.

"FDA" enforces laws and regulations preventing distribution of mislabeled foods, drugs, cosmetics, and medical devices.

"CPSC"-protects consumers from unreasonable risk of injury or death from potentially hazardous consumer products, but it also offers many publications on safety.

Big image