Northwest Ordinance

By: Alexis Anderson

Major Land Features in this Area

In this area of land we have many different major land features like:

  • Appalachian Mountains
  • The Great Lakes
  • Mississippi River
  • Ohio River

What States are included in the Northwest Territory?

States that are included in the Northwest territory are Ohio, Michigan, Illinois, Wisconsin, and Indiana.

How to become a State?

To become a state you must have 60,000 people living in your territory, must have a Republican government, State shall be admitted into Congress of the United States on an equal footing with the original States in all respects, and shall be at liberty to form a constitution and State government.

What was included in the Northwest Ordinance?

Republican governments were included in the Northwest Ordinance, because if you didn't have a Republican government you wouldn't be able to become a State.