LAKELAND ATHLETICS

UNCOMMON EFFORT | UNITED MINDSET | SERVANT LEADERSHIP

Big picture

PURPOSE PRINCIPLE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w_xp294jIhQ

How can we as administrators, employees, community members, parents, and student-athletes effectively GIVE positive ENERGY when we are faced with difficult problems and decisions.


"Don't let the frustration on the outside, diminish the fire on the inside." - Tim Kight


Fire - meaning inner drive of motivation, energy, the decisions you make on who you are, how you behave, how you speak, and how you approach life. It is 100% created by YOU!


Ask yourself... What are you doing to CREATE energy? Is that energy POSITIVE or negative?

Week of February 25, 2019

Monday | February 25, 2019

5:00pm | 6th Grade Girls' Basketball at West Noble Middle School

6:00pm | 7th Grade Girls' Basketball at West Noble Middle School

7:00pm | 8th Grade Girls' Basketball at West Noble Middle School

5:00pm | MS Gymnastics vs. Angola (LHS East Aux. Gym)

5:00pm | MS Wrestling at Fairfield


Tuesday | February 26, 2019

5:00pm | MS Girls' Basketball at Churubusco Middle School

7:30pm | IHSAA Boys' Basketball Sectionals vs. West Noble (Wawasee High School)


Wednesday | February 27, 2019

5:00pm | 6th Grade Girls' Basketball vs.Fremont (LMS)

6:00pm | 7th Grade Girls' Basketball vs.Fremont (LMS)

7:00pm | 8th Grade Girls' Basketball vs.Fremont (LMS)

5:00pm | MS Wrestling vs. Angola (LHS Main Gym)


Thursday | February 28, 2019

4:30pm | MS Girls' Basketball vs. Westview (LMS)

5:00pm | MS Gymnastics at West Noble


Friday | March 1, 2019

7:30pm | IHSAA Boys' Basketball Sectionals vs. Wawasee (Wawasee High School)


Saturday | March 2, 2019

9:00am | MS Wrestling at Central Noble Invitational

10:00am | MS Girls' Basketball vs. Prairie Heights (LMS)

Working on developing a Shoot-Out Format Event with surrounding schools due to all of the cancellations throughout this winter season.

11:00am | IHSAA Girls' Gymnastics Regional (Huntington North)

7:00pm | IHSAA Boys' Basketball Sectional Championship (Wawasee High School)

IHSAA BOYS BASKETBALL SECTIONAL TOURNAMENT

Big picture

HIGH SCHOOL | SPRING SPORTS SCHEDULES

Middle School Spring Sports Schedules will be posted at a later date.

Big picture
Big picture

Keirstin Roose was selected to the 2018-2019 NECC All-Conference Team

Big picture

Bailey Hartsough was selected to the 2018-2019 NECC All-Conference Team.

Big picture

Makayla Mast was selected to the 2018-2019 NECC Honorable Mention Team

Big picture

Our 8th Grade Girls' Basketball Team defeated Angola by 4 on February 19th.


Both 7th and 8th Grade Girls beat Elkhart Christian Academy on February 21st.

7th Grade Score | 44-17


The Middle School Wrestling team defeated Churubusco Middle School on February 18th.


Keirstin Roose & Bailey Hartsough were named to the 2019 NECC Girls' Basketball All-Conference Team!


Makayla Mast was named to the 2019 NECC Girls' Basketball Honorable Mention Team!

ATHLETIC ANNOUNCEMENTS & INFORMATION

  • High School Track & Field has officially began! If your son/daughter is interested in competing, have them stop by the Athletic Office or have them see Head Coach, Keith Thompson.


  • High School Baseball & Softball have begun their pre-season practices and performance training! If your son/daughter plans to compete and play, they need to begin attending practices and workouts! Have them stop by the Athletic Office for information -or- contact Head Coaches (contact information is at the bottom).


  • ACADEMIC ELIGIBILITY | For High School Athletes - The end of the Tri-Mester is coming up (Thursday, February 21st). Athletes must be passing 75% of their classes in order to be eligible for a Spring Sports, per IHSAA.


  • High School Track & Field began on February 11th.


  • High School Softball will officially begin on March 4th.


  • High School Baseball will officially begin on March 11th.


  • High School Boys' Golf will officially begin on March 11th.


  • High School Girls' Tennis will officially begin on March 11th.


  • If you're looking to attend the Middle School Booster Steak-Fry, tickets will be sold at the door. The event will take place on February 23, 2019!


  • The Baseball Steak-Fry will take place on March 16, 2019! Contact a Lakeland Baseball player to purchase tickets!


  • Winter Sports Awards | March 11, 2019

STAFF VS. LAW DOGS | CHARITY BASKETBALL GAME

Big picture

This charity basketball event was able to raise $1,900.00 for the LaGrange Habitat for Humanity!


The Lakeland Athletic Department and the LaGrange Habitat for Humanity want to say THANK YOU to all that attended in support of the community, and such an incredible organization!


Next years match-up will be the rubber-match between the two teams!

Big picture
Big picture

CHENILLE PATCH ORDERS

All individual chenille patch orders must be placed using this online form.

UPCOMING MAJOR EVENTS

NECC Weightlifting Meet

Saturday, Feb. 23rd, 8am

805 East 075 North

LaGrange, IN

Lakeland Middle School Steak-Fry

Saturday, Feb. 23rd, 6pm

100 Industrial Parkway

LaGrange, IN

Winter Sports Awards | High School & Middle School

Monday, March 11th, 6pm

805 East 075 North

LaGrange, IN

The 2019 Winter Sports Awards will take place in the Lakeland High School Auditorium.

Baseball Steak-Fry

Saturday, March 16th, 5pm

100 Industrial Parkway

LaGrange, IN

SIGN UP FOR ATHLETIC ALERTS

Visit - www.anchordownlakers.org

Sign up for specific Team alerts and get updates on cancellations, changes, reschedules, etc.

MESSAGE FROM THE IHSAA

Big picture

PROUD SPONSORS

High School Coaches | Contact Information

FALL

Football - Keith Thompson | kthompson@lakelandlakers.net

Volleyball - Brian Jordan | flyinbrian766@gmail.com

Boys' Soccer - Vacant

Girls' Soccer - Vacant

Girls' Cross Country - Thom Taylor | ttaylor@impactinstitue.net

Boys' Cross Country - Guy Glick | gglick@lakelandlakers.net

Boys' Tennis - Kyle Grossman | kgrossmane@lakelandlakers.net

Girls' Golf - Cassidy Roush | croush@lakelandlakers.net

Fall Cheer - Taylor Miller | milltd05@gmail.com


WINTER

Boys' Basketball - Nick Burlingame | nburlingame@lakelandlakers.net

Girls' Basketball - Dan Huizenga | dhuizenga@lakelandlakers.net

Wrestling - Kevin Watkins | kwatkins@lakelandlakers.net

Gymnastics - Sherill Habedank | shabedank@lakelandlakers.net

Winter Cheer - Taylor Miller | milltd05@gmail.com


SPRING

Baseball - Michael Isaacs | misaacs@lakelandlakers.net

Softball - Lauren Harris | lharris@lakelandlakers.net

Boys' & Girls' Track and Field - Keith Thompson | kthompson@lakelandlakers.net

Boys' Golf - Jon Roush | jroush@lakelandlakers.net

Girls' Tennis - Kyle Grossman | kgrossmane@lakelandlakers.net

Middle School Coaches | Contact Information

FALL

7th Football - Rich Frey | rfrey@lakelandlakers.net

8th Football - Trent Cowley | tcowley@lakelandlakers.net

6th Volleyball - Vacant

7th & 8th Volleyball - Angie Moore

Boys' Soccer - Dustin Riehl | driehl@lakelandlakers.net

Girls' Soccer - Sara Leggett | sleggett@lakelandlakers.net

Cross Country - Jessica Givens | jgivens@lakelandlakers.net

Fall Cheer - Kristina Fry | kfry75@gmail.com


WINTER

6th Boys' Basketball - Michael Isaacs | misaacs@lakelandlakers.net

7th Boys' Basketball - Jeff Patrick | jpatrick@lakelandlakers.net

8th Boys' Basketball - John Vander Roest | jvanderroest@lakelandlakers.net

6th Girls' Basketball - Lauren Moore | lmoore@lakelandlakers.net

7th Girls' Basketball - Amber Jerdon | ajerdon@lakelandlakers.net

8th Girls' Basketball - Doug Menz | dmenz@lakelandlakers.net

Wrestling - Luke Miller | jlmiller1993@icloud.com

Gymnastics - Katy Hiscox | khiscox@lakelandlakers.net

Winter Cheer - Kristina Fry | kfry75@gmail.com


SPRING

Boys' Track and Field - Guy Glick | gglick@lakelandlakers.net

Girls' Track and Field - Jessica Givens | jgivens@lakelandlakers.net

Co-Ed Golf - Cassidy Roush | croush@lakelandlakers.net