Democratic-Republicans Party

Democratic-Republican leader was Thomas Jefferson and James Madison in 1792

Jefferson and Madison created the party in order to oppose the economic and foreign policies of the Federalists. The party’s elected presidents were Thomas Jefferson (1800 and 1804), James Madison (1808 and 1812), and James Monroe (1816 and 1820). The Democratic-Republican party split into different parts in the 1824 election.