KASL President Press

How can we help?

Welcome to a New Year with KASL!

Kansas Association of School Librarians (KASL) runs their council year from June 1 through May. We have new elected officers joining us and continue to have service from our appointed positions. The KASL Council meets at least three Saturdays throughout the year to conduct the business of the organization. We would like to invite you to become more involved with KASL this year. Anyone may attend Council Meetings and dates and times of our meetings will be posted on the listserv. Carpooling with others also gives you valuable time to network and share ideas. I'd love to hear more ideas on how we can improve our services to members. Please let me know how we can help you!

KASL Membership Survey

To help us improve our services to members, please take a few minutes to fill out this survey and share ideas for our organization. Your input is valued. Thanks!


Big image

KASL Awards and Scholarships

· The Summer Semester Ruth Garver Gagliardo School Library Scholarship and the Spring Founders Scholarship are both being awarded to Grace Kastens from Atwood. Her current position is that of Gifted Coordinator for five school districts in Rawlins County. In the letter that accompanied her application she compares a library and its role in a school to a hub on a wheel. From that hub comes all the different spokes of the ideals that a school library should strive to achieve. She sees a librarian as a lead explorer on the great adventures of children. Grace will continue studies at Fort Hays State University.

· The Fall Founders Scholarship recipient is Tonya Foster, who is currently employed at Meadows Elementary School in Topeka as a first year librarian. Prior to this job she was a literacy coach at Shaner Elementary School in Topeka.

· The Vision Award goes to former teacher and librarian Beverley Olson Buller. As an author, William Allen White Children’s Book Award Selection Committee Chairperson, and Practicum Supervisor for the Emporia State University School of Library and Information Management, Bev fosters a love of reading and learning. Her research has resulted in publication of three books featuring famous Kansans bringing attention to Kansas.

· The Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Kim Clark, Principal at Garfield Elementary School in Augusta. This Home of the Grizzlies is 2006 NCLB Blue Ribbon School and a 2008 Panasonic National School Change Award-Winning School! Children learn at high levels, and every person who enters is part of the Garfield culture of learning!

· The Library Media Specialist Award will be given to Ruth McCauley who has served as a District Director and Promotions Chair. As Lowell and County View librarian in Winfield, her dedication to the profession is admirable due to her positive energy and love of learning.

· The AASL National Conference Award presented by KASL will enable school library media specialist Rachel Yoder to attend the American Association of School Librarians National Conference in Columbus, Ohio.

All Award winners will be recognized at the KASL Fall Conference. Congratulations!

-information provided by Carmaine Ternes-

KASL Fall Conference "Information Relief"

Thursday, Oct. 1st, 8am to Friday, Oct. 2nd, 2pm

410 South 3rd Street

Manhattan, KS

Come and enjoy our annual KASL Fall Conference! This two day event is packed with information shared by other library professions and colleagues. Vendors will be there to highlight their services. We have three guest authors including the 2015 WAW Winners, W. H. Beck for "Malcolm at Midnight" and M. H. Herlong author of "Buddy." Kansas children's book illustrator, Brad Sneed, will also be presenting at the luncheon on Friday. It is your chance to: Plug In, Discover, Share, Refresh, and Recharge!

Looking for Presenters

We are still looking for people who will present or co-present at the Fall Conference. I heard many great ideas shared during District Workshops this spring. Consider sharing with others around the state. Use the link to submit your proposal. Presenters will receive a discount on their KASL Membership dues the following year. Thanks! https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1NB24tAu7M1j0Z8rErmM5bLW2Vt_JoD1RfJwjZkT3wNQ/viewform?usp=send_form

President of Kansas Association for School Librarians (KASL)

Marla Wigton, Elementary School Librarian

Frank Rushton/Emerson Elementary Schools

Kansas City, KS