Followers of Islam are Called Muslims


Islam is a monotheistic religion. The followers of Islam are called Muslims. Allah is the name of God in Islam. They believe in Prophet Muhammad whose work is recorded in their holy book Qur'an. Muslims practice the five pillars of Islam - faith, prayer, fasting, pilgrimage, and charity. The Muslims are mainly divided in two sects - Sunni and Shia. Sunnis cover almost 80% of Muslim population. They believe in the original teachings of the prophet while the Shias believe that their leaders (called ayatollahs) are the reflection of God on earth. Muslims worship in a Mosque and their worship leader is called Imam. Their major holidays are Ramadan, Eid al-Fitr, and Hijra. Ramadan is the month of fasting and is one of the five pillars of Islam. During Ramadan Muslims clean-up their lives, thoughts and feelings. Their holy city is Mecca. The common figure to all three religions is Abraham.
Islamic Call to Prayer - [Islam Calls You]