School Board Notes

December 2017

The Meetings in Review

The December meetings included the annual School Board Reorganization meeting, followed by a combined work session and regular meeting.

Four new School Board Directors were sworn in to serve a term of four years. The Board welcomed Jen Cancro, Elizabeth Drummond, Mary Hull, and Ralph Navarrete. Following a swearing in ceremony for each with family looking on (pictures below), the Board moved on to election of officers.

The Board elected Kim Aubrey-Larcinese as president and Elizabeth Drummond as vice president, both for a term of one year. Ms. Larcinese explained that committee assignments will follow in the coming month.

The Board approved the appointment of Mr. Gerald Thompson as Assistant Principal for Arcola Intermediate School. Mr. Thompson has over 20 years of experience and comes to Methacton from Upper Dublin School District. We look forward to welcoming Mr. Thompson to our Methacton family.

Mr. Jim Beam, President of the Methacton Education Foundation, provided the Board with information about the Commonwealth's Earned Income Tax Credit program. This program enables individuals and businesses to direct a portion of their Pennsylvania income tax liability to benefit the Education Foundation. More information is available on the Foundation's website.

The Board also accepted the resignation of School Board Director, Chris Boardman. A special meeting has been scheduled for Monday, December 11 at 6:30 p.m. at Methacton High School, located at 1005 Kriebel Mill Road in Eagleville for the purposes of filling this vacancy. Detailed qualifications, procedures to apply, and details on the process the Board will follow to fill the vacancy may be found on the district's website at

Persons who wish to be considered must submit a letter of interest and resume of qualifications to the Methacton School District Board of School Directors c/o Donna Koons, Board Secretary, at 1001 Kriebel Mill Road, Eagleville, PA 19403. Applications for consideration must be received no later than 1 p.m. on Thursday, December 7, 2017.

All other items listed on the December 4 agenda were approved.

Big image
Above: School Board Director Jen Canro is sworn in as her family looks on.
Big image
Above: School Board Director Elizabeth Drummond is sworn in as her family looks on.
Big image
Above: School Board Director Mary Hull is sworn in as her family looks on.
Big image
Above: School Board Director Ralph Navarrete is sworn in as his family looks on.

December Award of Excellence

Superintendent Dr. David Zerbe invited Award of Excellence recipients to be recognized by the Board. Honored in December were employees of Methacton vendors Aramark Food Services and First Student Transportation.

Aramark Director of Food Services at Methacton, Lindsay Sankovsky Burke, read a few words honoring Carol Bickel; while Dr. Zerbe shared accolades for First Student's Harry Williams. Read more about these two fine individuals on the district's website.

Big image
Pictured above, left to right: Superintendent Dr. David Zerbe, Carol Bickel, Aramark Director of Food Services Lindsay Sankovsky Burke, and School Board President Kim Aubrey-Larcinese.
Big image
Pictured above, left to right, Superintendent Dr. David Zerbe, Harry Williams, and School Board President Kim Aubrey-Larcinese.

December 4 Reorganization, Work Session, and Regular School Board Meeting

Board Notes

The Methacton School District's Board of School Directors meets each month. School board work session meetings are generally held on the third Tuesday of the month, followed by the regular meeting on the fourth Tuesday (except during the month of December). Regular Board and work session meetings typically take place in the MHS LGI, and all residents are invited to attend. Committee meetings may take place in the Board Room at the Farina Center, or the MHS LGI. Meeting agendas are posted to agenda manager, and start times and locations are posted on the District's website. Please confirm meeting time and location before attending. Download the meeting calendar here. Watch the meeting video online.