Texas A&M University

About Texas A&M University

History of Texas A&M University

Texas A&M enrollment began on October 2,1876. It was limited to only white males, and all students were required to participate in the Corps of Cadets and receive military training. On March 26, 1960, Major General James Earl Rudder, class of 1932, became the 16th president of the college!

Athletics and Sports

The aggies joined the SEC (Southeastern Conference) in 2012. A&M also won the Cotton Bowl in the 2012 season against Oklahoma University. The aggies also have two players that won the Heisman Trophy, John David Crow and Johnny Manziel.


Aggie football fans are called the 12th Man. The tradition began on January 2, 1922 when Texas A&M played Centre College. Almost every year since 1909, A&M students have built a large bonfire to celebrate beating Texas University. It was traditionally lit around Thanksgiving.